1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MAIN CONCEPT NO AUDIO CONVERSION

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by badgerboy, Feb 10, 2005.

  1. badgerboy

    badgerboy Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm having big problems with converting any type of file to Mpeg 1 or Mpeg 2. The video will convert alright but when it is opened there has been no audio conversion.

    I've tried files on someone elses computer and it works fine there so I don't know what the problem could be.

    Is there a possibility that I haven't got certain codecs? or could my sound card just be rubbish?

    Any help would be hugely appreciated.
     
  2. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Nothing to do with your sound card.
    The file probably contains an audio compression codec that Mainconcept doesn't like...usually VBR mp3 audio.
    Extract the audio in virtualdub, save as .wav, and then import the .wav into Mainconcept.
     
  3. badgerboy

    badgerboy Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It can't be that because I've tried it on another computer using Main Concept and managed to convert it with sound but it won't work on mine.
     
  4. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Open the file in GSpot and find out what codec(s) you need. Download and install them.
     
  5. badgerboy

    badgerboy Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'd already done that with AVI Codec and it was apparently supported. I also tried it with G-Spot and that says that the codecs are installed.
     
  6. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Never had this problem in Mainconcept, unless the file was corrupt somehow.
    When you load the file, does the audio track pop into it's place automatically?
    What codec IS used by the audio?
     
  7. badgerboy

    badgerboy Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    0x0055(MP3, ISO) MPEG-1 Layer 3 is what it says in G Spot and yes the audio track does automatically pop into place when I open the video file.

    Like I said though I've transferred the file via disc over to another computer and that computer has encoded everything properly. It's only happening on my computer. This is really driving me mental.
     
  8. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Are you encoding it to LPCM or mp2 audio?
    At what bitrate?
    The original audio is mp3, and probably VBR, which can mess up easily.
    A tool like goldwave would extract the mp3 and save as .wav
    Use the .wav as audio input for your encode, that is, if vurtualdub can't extract it.
    In virtualdub, select Audio, Full processing, then file, save .wav
    Should work.
     
  9. badgerboy

    badgerboy Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for your help I extracted the Wav with Virtual Dub and reencoded using that and it works a treat.

     
  10. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    et voila! <grin>
     

Share This Page