1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple burners on one computer

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by slater84, Nov 15, 2004.

  1. slater84

    slater84 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey,,

    ive just got a dvd-rw drive back from repair and want to fit it to my computer as well as the one i baught to replace it, so i will have:

    DVD-Rom
    DVD-RW
    DVD-RW

    All in one computer,, has antone else done this? will it be straight forward? also can i use nero to burn two copies at the same time.

    cheers,
    slater
     
  2. jpc00

    jpc00 Guest

    Hey Slater,

    I don't think it will be a problem having three DVD drives on your system, as long as you have the necessary IDE channels available and configure the Master/Slave settings correctly. (I'm assuming that all 3 are internal IDE/ATAPI drives). This might help a little:

    http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/if/ide/conf.htm

    As far as burning 2 copies at once, I have read on other posts here that when burning you should have as few other things going on as possible. You could experiment once you get everything in place, but I would think at the very least you would need a LOT of memory to run 2 video intense programs at once.

    Hope I helped a little
     
  3. karatone

    karatone Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    On my main pc I'm running two Pioneer 107 recorders and a Lite on DVD rom for reading and have had no problems. As said on the previous post as long as you have the proper cables and aval. IDE channels you'll be fine. As far as being able to record on two drives I'm assuming you're talking about the two drives recording the same project, with Discjuggler I've been able to burn my CD+G discs simultaneously but i haven't tried dvd back-ups yet. I'll give it a try and let you know .
     
  4. pjhlee

    pjhlee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    this may be overly conservative on the part of sony, but i bought their dru-700a to be the master to my slave pioneer a04. after a support call to them, they claim that i am not allowed to have two burners on my desktop or it will cause problems. i have to wonder if it's just overly conservative of them???
     
  5. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    As stated before, there shouldn't be any problem running 2 burners on a system as long as you have the space and connectors to do so.I don't know where Sony came up with that story. The only other problem I have heard of is with the use of 2 drives made by the same company. In some systems they will conflict with each other if installed on the same IDE cable as Master and Slave. If you install them on different IDE cables the problem usually goes away. Hope this helps some.

    Jerry
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2004

Share This Page