1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My PC gets stuck when turning off or restart

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Metallo, Mar 12, 2005.

  1. Metallo

    Metallo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    Recently, my PC has got problems when I turn it off or want to restart.
    It freezes when it gets to the windows blue screen before turning off.
    This happens since I began to make photo slideshows or DVDs by importing/eding videos.

    I'm sure it is linked to this, like a full cache problem or so.
    I work in XP SP2

    Can anybody help?

    Thank you
    Alex
     
  2. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Could be a number of things actually.

    Lots of processes/applications still running
    USB devices that are still connected and in use (broadband modems can cause this)
    Other external hardware still connected that are running.

    Difficult to outline exactly what the problem maybe but it may also be that you system specs are a little 'bogged' down and may require cleaning up - Spyware maybe running aswell etc etc.

    I use the Microsoft beta version at the moment which works quite well.
     
  3. otester

    otester Guest

    OS? SP2?
     
  4. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2005
  5. Metallo

    Metallo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    My system is clean, no spyware or things like that because I regularly clean it.

    It really does that when I have done lots of recoding.

    If I do normal browsing etc. it switches off in 5-6 sec. even after many hours of use.

    Alex
     
  6. pulsar

    pulsar Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    What size is your PSU? Is it 250W?
     
  7. Metallo

    Metallo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    My PSu is 300W and it's new, thanks for the question, I've realised a mistake in the signature!

    Cheers
    ALex
     
  8. pulsar

    pulsar Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Im not sure if your PSU is up to the job, you look like you have a lot of stuff & it could be too much for it.
     
  9. otester

    otester Guest

    i got a 300w PSU with my box and i overclock to da max and its ok, my spec:

    2800+ (OC'd to 2.23 Ghz) 333 Mhz
    K7N2 Delta-L
    1GB Crucial PC3200
    Connect3D 9800 Pro 128MB (OC'd from 378/339 to 426/339)
     
  10. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    And that helps metallo in what way?

    What software are you using to the above, as it may have compatibility issues with SP2.
    Maybe worthwhile uninstalling SP2 and see if that helps.

    Or disable ALL of your USB devices manually before closing down and see if that helps.

    We need to eliminate possiblilities I think first.
     
  11. Metallo

    Metallo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I will try to eliminate the possibilities one by one as suggested by BaaBaa.
    It's true I have a broadband modem, maybe I can try to disconnect it for 15 minutes and then try again.
    I have USB ports, but I use only 1,actually used with my printer...

    Last night I left my PC downloading something and I programmed a shutdown at 02.00 hrs (I use Switch Off and it has always worked fine, it has the function "force applications to close", never had a problem before).
    This morning I found it hanged over to "Windows is shutting down", I could move the mouse pointer but CTR+ALT+DLT did not work, so I kept the switch push 3-4 sec. untill the PC shutted down.
    Then turned PC on again, tried to switch off, but again hanged over.

    Very strange.

    I'll keep you informed, if you have any other idea to look at, please let me know.

    Thanks for your help!

    Alex
     
  12. otester

    otester Guest

    sounds wierd, you overclock? how long since you last reformatted?
     
  13. venomX05

    venomX05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Have you tried Registry Mechanic?

    I got the infamous IRQL message when I would unplug anything from the usb ports. Come to find out, I had alot of corrupted files.

    Now I don't know if this will help you, but it is a good program to fix various errors.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2005
  14. otester

    otester Guest

    unplug any USB storage devices, that stopped my system once!
     
  15. Metallo

    Metallo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi guys,

    I do not overclock and have not tried registry mechanic.
    However, recently I have installed the following hardware components:

    1) New Power Supply
    2) New CPU fun
    3) New USB PCI card generic
    4) Plextor DVD PX-716A

    I have understood from different posts that many people get trouble with USB, therefore I can try to unistall and reinstall the driver.

    My system is clean, I have many programs but if I look to all the drivers they are perfectly working.

    I use windows update regularly.

    Let's try the USB drivers...

    Cheers
    Alex
     
  16. otester

    otester Guest

    which was the one that stopped ur pc working? try taking each one out individually!
     
  17. Metallo

    Metallo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Otester,

    Difficult to test, because my PC stops only when it has done lots of work, for instance dowloading or encoding films etc. so it's impossible to unplug what I have in the new USB card and say, that was the issue.

    BTW, I have only two devices plugged in the USB:

    My Webcam
    My Printer

    Maybe, I can plug them again in the old USB and see if I have problems.

    If my systems hangs over again, is there a way to see what's the application creating the problem after I have rebooted?

    Cheers
    Alex
     
  18. Starbuck1

    Starbuck1 Guest

    Take a peak at Task Manager prior to shutting down; sort on cpu and memory; see what is eating up cpu and memory (even when you say all your apps are shut down) and let us know.

    Lastly, like someone suggested was to deinstall your latest software upgrades/installs; I'd keep sp2 on and document everything you do. More than likely, something is eating up cpu/memory prior to shutting down. One of my computers act this way too after many hours of work without a reboot; possible memory fragmentation. A PIII doesn't do too well with video/multimedia/editting/playing/software.

    Let us know. We're like the Police Department; we're here to "serve and protect"!!!

    starbuck
     

Share This Page