1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

my Pioneer A05 is only reading CD's,Help please!

Discussion in 'DVD players' started by karatone, Jun 7, 2003.

1. karatone

karatone Regular member

I've got a new Cendyne/Pioneer 105/A05 Dvd-r and it is installed in an external USB 2.0 case,XP Professional Id's the drive ,but will not play anything but audio cd's ,my device manager looks normal,and when i click on the drive to play a DVD the system gives me notification that "the device is not ready" or "please insert a disc" it's behaving like an ordinary Cd-rom and I don't know why. This is my first USB 2.0 device so I'm new to this type of situation,the case instruction said that no driver are needed for XP,I'm not sure if there is a new driver for the A05 that XP doesn't already have in the systems file,but i haven't seen anyone on the forum with this problem.I'm thinking of plugging my cable to my MB USB port instead on my 2.0 adapter port to see if it will work. Any advice would be helpful, thanks

2. xgasman

xgasman Member

Did you install POWERDVD or WINDVD player? XP doesn't have built-in codec for playing dvd movies. Then you have to set the region for the drive before it will play a movie.

3. karatone

karatone Regular member

I only installed WinDvd,and I haven't set the region for the drive yet,i wasn't sure if I had to. I live in the States,so should i set it to USA?

4. karatone

karatone Regular member

I just set the region and still it's not reading DVD with WinDvd,I'm lost here,what now? my tower is full holding two Plextor 12/4/32 ,and one 32Plex cd-rom scsi drives.I need these for my karaoke CD+G stuff or I'd install the 105 direct to the secondary IDE channel,i wanted to be hip and try out this new USB 2.0 stuff,and I'm not even sure if thats the problem yet ,but at this point I don't know what is,any more ideas would be helpful, thanks

5. karatone

karatone Regular member