1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need guidance on how to configure my headphone audio-out connector on my PC case!

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by dragonz17, Jul 17, 2007.

  1. dragonz17

    dragonz17 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I’ve bought a new Advance PC Touch Me Case online from Pixmania. I’ve been using it for a while now with absolutely no problems, until I tried to connect my Logitech Stealth Gear headphones to the front “phones” connector alongside the USB connectors.

    http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/175015/art/advance/8509-touch-me-pc-tower-ca.html
    The Advance PC Touch Me PC case.

    http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Pr...ailID=657&DetailName=Feature&MenuID=1&LanID=8
    The ECS K8M890M-M motherboard currently being used.

    This is my first time dealing with these new types of computer cases so I really don’t have much understanding on how to rectify the predicament at hand. If anyone is familiar with what the problem, then please don’t hesitate to advice me on what I need to carry out in order to get the headphones to work with the front “phones” connecter of the PC case. Thanks.

    Simon
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The touch aspect is new to me, but everything else seems standard. The headphone connector at the front of the case has a connector going from it (it should be labelled) that plugs into the header marked AUDIO on your motherboard.
     
  3. dragonz17

    dragonz17 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'll check to see if it is connected, be back in 10-15 minutes to let you know how it goes.

    Simon
     
  4. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    OK. I'll be making my journey home soon. Post back and I should reply within no more than an hour.
     
  5. dragonz17

    dragonz17 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok, I’ve opened the case and checked the manual for assistance- only to find the microphone and ear phone connector already connected to the appropriate place.

    I removed the connector and re-connected it, booted up Windows XP and tested the headphones in both front-connectors with no luck.

    What else could I try to resolve this problem?

    Simon
     
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I assume you're using the onboard audio rather than an additional sound card?
     
  7. dragonz17

    dragonz17 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm using a pci sound card, Creative Sound Blaster Audigy.

    Could that be causing the problem?
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2007
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    lol! Yes, because you're plugging the front panel connectors into the motherboard's onboard sound, which you've disabled. There should be a connector on your PCI sound card of the same sort, use that one instead!
     
  9. dragonz17

    dragonz17 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok i've checked the sound card for the 9-pin connection. To my disappointment, the sound card doesn't seem to have one. (which is strange becuase I thought Creative Audigy was a good sound card and I bought it recently)

    The only extra connection it has is an AUX connection and this is just a 4-pin connection.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2007
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hmm, sucks. Which Audigy did you buy?
    Is it really important to be able to use the front audio ports?
     
  11. dragonz17

    dragonz17 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The Audigy's a better sound card, lol it's the one I had, but although it's an Audigy and gets most of the cool software, it's very featureless. It can only support 5.1 with a microphone, not 7.1, and it has no MIDI, or as you noticed, a front audio port.
     
  13. dragonz17

    dragonz17 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Haha, never mind- i'll make do with the on-board audio. (Which ain't all that bad, Quake 4 still sounds amaazing ;))
     
  14. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    So you need that extra cable length? Personally I find using the front audio a Pain. I recommend you use the PCI sound card, better sound (esp with software) and you can plug headphones into your speakers' headphone port anyway.
     
  15. 6spdSER

    6spdSER Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    @dragonz17

    The Audigy does in fact have pinouts for front headphone/mic inputs, however it is in the form of Creative's 40pin configuration, so that users would buy their breakout boxes. Here is a diagram to help decipher what pin is what. But if you need more instructions google "Audigy Pinouts"

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2007
  16. dragonz17

    dragonz17 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks for the post 6spdSER, I took another look at the sound card and noticed that the connecter is far to petite to connect to the case audio 9-pin connector.

    Thanks anyways 6spdSER.

    Simon
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2007
  17. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yeah I think it requires either rewiring or a breakout box.
     
  18. dragonz17

    dragonz17 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    A "breakout box"? is that like a special adaptor for the sound card to connect to the 9-pn audio connector?

    I wouldn't know what to do with it? (Hell I don't even know what it is)
     

Share This Page