1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NEED HELP new ESATA hard drive

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by 9161lee, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. 9161lee

    9161lee Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hello everyone
    just got a new ESATA hard drive so i can record on my dm800hd

    but when i try to record it says no HDD found or HDD not initialised

    is this something i need to do on my comp to initialise it?

    can somebody help me with this pls ASAP

    ps it is connected through usb

    thanks
    leanne x
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011
  2. e45

    e45 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    format the HDD to fat 32 and it should work for you then
     
  3. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    if the drive is over a certain size you may need to partition it , so if the drive is a TB drive, you wont be able to flash to FAT, as its to big, download swissknife in the case and partion the drive into smaller sizes
     
  4. 9161lee

    9161lee Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hi
    i am on windows 7 and its not showing FAT32, it is just NTFS and EXFAT

    no idea what to do
    have tried foramting it on devices manager through dreambox and tried mounting it but when its plugged in its not recognising it, it says no HDD and on the USB DRIVE its just the same

    can someone help me with this
    and hard drive size is just 500gb

    thanks
    leanne xx
     
  5. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
  6. 9161lee

    9161lee Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    keeps telling me swissknife is incompatable with my version of windows-windows 7

    any other ideas
    really wanna get this sorted

    thanks
    leanne x
     
  7. 9161lee

    9161lee Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok i have formatted it to FAT32
    it is showing up devices manager on usb drive 2 but still says no HDD/no initilised

    in devices manager it mentions mount/unmount and format

    so is there anything i need to do?

    thanks
    leanne x
     
  8. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011
  9. 9161lee

    9161lee Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  10. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    you need to FORMAT, use the programme to format it to FAT32, if you plug the drive in and your PC see's it in my computer, if you right click the drive and then properties, it will tell you if its NTFS or FAT etc,
     
  11. 9161lee

    9161lee Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yea done it, it is showing FAT32 in properties
    but its now not showing in devices manager at all

    really fed up with it now
    just dont know whats wrong

    leanne x
     
  12. e45

    e45 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    it will show up in device management under your usb device on your pc as drive (E) (F) what ever it put it to
     
  13. gerrard08

    gerrard08 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    are you able to try a different usb port on your dm800hd? or does it only have 1 usb port?
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011
  14. 9161lee

    9161lee Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks for all your help got it sorted now, its recording fine now,
    just one more problem, it seems when i turn the power off and on again on the HDD, it needs initialising again, which means any previous recordings disappear, i lose them all

    anyone know if there is a way around this?

    thanks
    leanne x
     
  15. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    the hard drive is faulty. the internals of these hdds is obviously a hard drive and an interface card that connects to the pata connector of the hard drive. the problems you are having are typical of a cheap external drive. had the exact same problems with a medion from aldi. never again. advise, buy a decent drive
     
  16. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    I agree, got a medion 750gig and it lasted about 6 months and just died, those HD out of lidl/aldi are rubbish, agree with Fint, stay away, Amazon do a great deal on a 1tb WD drive,
     
  17. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    strange thing mickah is that i opened up the internals of the drive to find a seagate barracuda 1tb drive which i rate well. so i took it out of the plastics and installed it as an internal drive in my vu+ system. the system did recognize it but it was not possible to write to it. have an hitachi drive that has been on 24*7 for 2 years. Never an issue. Paid maybe 40 euro more but at least i have never lost all movies i have taped. and that is worth the extra money
     
  18. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    I bought one on fleabay, OMATA but its a WD Drive in it, its been working away no probs, but those medion ones seem to crawl into a ball and die
     

Share This Page