1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need Microsoft Home Publishing 2000 to work on Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows - Software discussion' started by kookie56, Jul 7, 2011.

  1. kookie56

    kookie56 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I bought a new computer:
    HP Pavilion P6774y PC
    AMD Phenom II x4 840T Processor 2.90 GHz
    6GB Ram 1Tb hard drive
    Windows 7 Premium 64 Service Pack 1

    On my last 2 computers with Windows 98 and Windows XP I could run my program
    "Microsoft Home Publishing 2000" with no problems.
    I used it for all kinds of projects. I am lost without it.
    With this new computer, with Windows 7, the program will not work.
    After I install it, and try to open it, the opening screen is not there. Just a blank screen.
    I would really like to be able to use this program. Can anyone tell me if there is a way to make it work?
    I tried the compatibility thing (changing it to windows xp 2) but it did nothing.
    Please, can anyone help me? I am desperate.
    Thank you.
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,275
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    98
    I can't offer anything specific for that program.
    I once had to get a 32 bit program working under Windows 7 and the method I used was with a utility called corflags.

    Copy corflags to the folder that contains the program file.
    Highlight the folder that contains the program file.
    Hold down the Shift key and right click on the folder.
    'Open Command Window Here' should be a menu choice.
    Select it and the folder should open with a command prompt.

    Type:
    CorFlags.exe filename.exe /32BIT+
    Replace filename with the file that starts the application.
    http://www.apexsql.com/zips/CorFlags.zip


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]



    The other solution is to pay M$ to upgrade to W7 Professional and run it out of a Virtual Machine.
     
  4. kookie56

    kookie56 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'll give it a try and see what happens. Thank you for answering.
     

Share This Page