1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nero Vision is saying my files are bigger than they are

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by gooner59, Mar 7, 2007.

1. gooner59

gooner59 Member

Hi

I realise there is a help guide posted here but I am a newbie and would appreciate a little help

I have various sets of video files I want to convert to DVD. Some are avi some mpeg 4 and I am keeping formats separate when I compile DVD

All my files are approx 450 Mb but when I use the add file part of the process in Nerovision 4 (part of newest Nero 7 suite) to start the meter says 2.4 Gb filled after only 1 file? and once I have added 2 450 Mb files it says DVD is full

I guess I am missing something simple

Any guidance would be appreciated
    Regards

Craig

2. laddyboy

laddyboy Regular member

Hi.

AVIs and MP4s are in mpeg4 (divx or xvid) format. DVDs are in mpeg2 format. In converting from mpeg4 to mpeg2 format, file sizes will increase by about 3 1/2 times. This is just the difference in formats. Mpeg4 is a highly compressed format. Many people get around this by purchasing DVD players that also play divx (mpeg4) as well as the standard mpeg2 DVD format. If you have one of those players, you just burn your AVIs and MP4s as data files.

3. MHguitar

MHguitar Member

Quick question- If you can just copy the data file to a blank dvd to play on a divx compatible player, do you need to change the filename extension on thos data files or will the AVI/mpeg extension be understood by trhe player. Just curious as I have a Divx compatible player, and have not figureed out how to use that feature yet(Aside from knowing I can download the rental limited use Divx movies which I have no interest in). I don't need a special encoder - I noticed Nero Vision 4 doesn't show Divx as an exporting format in their software.

4. laddyboy

laddyboy Regular member