1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

network problem

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by gary_uk21, Sep 28, 2007.

  1. gary_uk21

    gary_uk21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    right guys

    i've went out and brought a netgear hub with 5 ports. i got it so i can spread my internet with my wifes laptop and my xbox 360 at the same time. i had a look on the internet but all it says is just to connect the ethernet from laptop to hub etc.
    it will work with only one connection to the hub but thats as far as it goes.
    any help would be great

    thanx

    gary_uk21
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Are you actually sharing the internet connection to the hub?
    I'm assuming your internet connection comes from a different source, USB modem or something. If there's no hub in the modem, you will need to share the internet connection over LAN.
     
  3. gary_uk21

    gary_uk21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i've got the cable modem in the hub and have connected the pc, laptop and xbox 360 through the hub. hub lights are all flashing but dosn't seem to working lol
     
  4. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    So none of the devices get internet access? Do they all have correct IP addresses?
     
  5. gary_uk21

    gary_uk21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i can connect one through the hub.. say the pc for example but if i try and go online with the laptop at the same time it wont connect same with the 360
     
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The best thing I can really recommend is to get a switch rather than a hub (they are much better and barely any more money). Is your modem setup to assign more than one IP?
     
  7. gary_uk21

    gary_uk21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    don't think so, how can i find this out and how can i do that???

    thanx for your help mate
     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    What make and model are both the hub and the modem?
     
  9. gary_uk21

    gary_uk21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Model of the hub is... Netgear 5 Port 10/100Mbps Switch F5605 v3

    Model of Modem is .... Motorola SB1500 (Virgin media Modem)

    hope this help
     
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
  11. gary_uk21

    gary_uk21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ah yes, well it's similar. That's Gigabit Networking, not 100Mbps like yours, but otherwise the same. it's a switch, not a hub.
     
  13. gary_uk21

    gary_uk21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so whats the differance between the switch and the hub??

     
  14. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    A hub merely sends any data sent in outwards to all the devices connected, and it's up to those devices to work out who the data is meant for.
    A switch only sends data down the channel it belongs on.
     
  15. gary_uk21

    gary_uk21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so what one would you recommend for sharing my internet connection then??
     
  16. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    A switch, which is what you've got.
     

Share This Page