1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Comp

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by EYEShurt, Jun 3, 2004.

  1. EYEShurt

    EYEShurt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok here it is my i have 1700 australian dollars am buying from http://www.digispan.com.au/ and am getting

    Creative SB Live! Digital Entertainment 5.1 SE



    XSONIC Cobra822 400watt Midi Tower Black Blue Red or Silver
    - Color Blue


    WD Caviar 80GB 7200rpm with Data-Lifeguard ATA-100 JB 8mb



    Pentium 4, 3.0Ghz, (478-pin), 1MB, 0.09u, 800MHz Bus (PRESCOTT)



    Gigabyte Radeon 9600 128MB 8xAGP 64BIT TV-Out Twinview DVI PDVD



    Creative Inspire 5200 Speakers



    LITEON 8XDVD-DUAL DVD+ 8X4X12 DVD-8X4X12 CD40X24X40 SONIC



    GIGABYTE GA 8I848P-G 848P ATX 2SATA FSB800 USB AC97 SingleCHLDDR



    PANASONIC 1.44Mb 3.5" FDD White



    ASUS Philips 7133/4 Chip NTSC PAL TV Tuner FM USB Remote Ctrl



    LOGITECH Cordless MX DUO KB, Optical MS, receiver



    GENERIC 512MB 184PIN 400MHZ DDR MODULE


    is there anything else anyone suggests to get or incompatibility problems peole have had with these things or if these ppl are frauds this all currently comes to 1550 aus dollar.
     
  2. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Two things:
    1. You may have OC problems with the 'stock' memory. If you dont intend to OC then there shouldnt be a problem

    2. The Radeon9600SE (with the 64bit memory interface) will be the over system bottleneck. You may consider a videocard with a 128bit memory interface.
     
  3. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If you are into even modest gaming then does as Praetor suggested, get at least 128 bit card. Most people seem to think that they have to match their memory to their systems front side bus speed but that's not the case. If you buy memory that supports a 400 mhz frontside bus on a board rated for 800 mhz you will probably find your systems front side bus running at 400 mhz. I say probably because some high quality memory can be set to run faster than it's native specification. The best bet is to buy memory that exceeds your front side bus speed because faster memory is back-compatible and it leaves you extra head-room to over clock. Be sure to request CAS2 memory because that also enhances you ability to over clock.
     
  4. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    BTW, do not buy generic memory becaue it is a real crap shoot.
     
  5. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Course if you are into only moderate gaming, I wouldnt go out and spend money on some ultra hardcore memory either - this system im using has your run of the mill stock memory (granted it is Samsung but it's still stock and I can push it pretty far).
     
  6. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Memory prices are so low now that even high quality memory is affordable.

    Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200 - OEM
    (limit 10 per customer)

    - Specifications -

    Manufacturer: Corsair
    Speed: DDR400(PC3200)
    Type: 184 Pin DDR SDRAM
    Error Checking: Non-ECC
    Registered/Unbuffered: Unbuffered
    Cas Latency: 2-3-3-6 1T
    Support Voltage: 2.6V
    Bandwidth: 3.2GB/s
    Organization: 64M x 64 -Bit
    Warranty: Lifetime[/]
     
  7. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yes but i can easily get "stock" memory for $70 (CAD) (roughly $50USD i think) for PC3200

    I dunno it comes down to personal preference i guess.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]ASUS A7N8X-X, XP2500+ OC'd to XP3200+
    Samsung 1024MB, PC2700 OC'd to PC3200
    480GB [3x160GB, 7200, 8MB]
    EVGA, GeForce4 Ti4600 128MB

    Rules and Policies: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2487[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2004
  8. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    How true Praetor, as you probably know by now, I always buy very good to the best but those are my preferences. I'm sticking with the staying away from generic memory because some it doesn't even work to spec. Some CAS3 memory made by high quality manufacturers can be set to run at CAS2, especially if it's rated for a higher bus speed than your board is. You'd be effectively under clockin it which allows for the CAS2 settings.
     
  9. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Very true indeed! I run a pair of Corsairs at home in the XP2800 and am quite happy with them :)
     
  10. EYEShurt

    EYEShurt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so what yous are saying is get some higher quality ram and a 128 bit graphics card (i.e. XpertVision ATI 9600LE 256MB 128bit DDR, DVI, TV Out
    [XV-R9600LE-2] AU$173.60 ) ?
     
  11. EYEShurt

    EYEShurt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2004
  12. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    EYEShur, sounds good to me but if you want a better selection the go to www.newegg.com and browse.
     
  13. EYEShurt

    EYEShurt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok its just that i live in australia and am trying to keep to australian websites (will have a look though).
     
  14. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Point well taken, you'll have to shop.
     
  15. EYEShurt

    EYEShurt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the case has a Raidmax psu is his good bad should i scrap it
     
  16. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I havnt heard anything particularly bad about Raidmax PSUs with a minor exception in that the 3.3V lines arent as stable as their 12 and 5 lines ... nothing to be horribly worried about tho :)
     

Share This Page