1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New hard drive replacing my old one?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by lmac222, May 14, 2007.

  1. lmac222

    lmac222 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok i have 440 gb in my system. a 320 gb(d) drive, which doesnt really effect

    but my OS is on my 120 gb(c) drive

    my question is


    i just bought a 500 gb hard drive, any way possible to get all the data from the C drive onto the one i just purchased? and if so can i just copy the OS over to it......if not can i put the hard drive in a diff computer, put the OS on it.....then take it out of the computer and just put it in my main one? But with this still i dont have my data from the 120gb
    and no i dont have enuff storage on the 320 to hold all my data on the 120(sad i know)
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    can use ghost to copy info off 120gig onto 500gig then take 120gig out of case. i do that all the time.
     
  3. lmac222

    lmac222 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    im sorry, i dont know what ghost copying is/does can you explain?
     
  4. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Norton Ghost and Casper XP are programs that allow you to copy one partition or hard drive to another and still allow it to be bootable.
     
  5. lmac222

    lmac222 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok so currently i have

    C(os system) 120 gb
    D320 gb



    in plastic my 500 gb hd...........so take my 320 out and put my 500 in?and copy that way?
     
  6. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    or you can put the new drive in an external enclosure and copy over usb. either way, use a ghosting program or the new partition won't be bootable.
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    don't go usb as is to slow in copying the info. tried it so i know.
     
  8. lmac222

    lmac222 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so the way i said would work?

    just take out my current 320 GB D Drive......and just plug my new one up and ghost copy?
     
  9. wickedzx5

    wickedzx5 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes. but try and do some research on google for a walkthrough on using norton ghost. it CAN harm the data but just make sure you use it correctly. just take out your 320 GB HDD, put in your new 500 GB, use ghost to copy everything from your 120 to 500. then once you copy everything from your 120 gig, replace it with the 320 and you will have 820 GB of hard drive space :) i have 2 x 250 GB internal HD's and one 400 GB external ;) im still trying to trying to get to 1 Terabyte of storage lol
     
  10. lmac222

    lmac222 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    as was i.........on the terabyte

    thus halfway there with my new purchase, seagate 500 gb for 100 bucks after rebates from tigerdirect.....unfortunately it says one rebate per household, was going to get 2 :)
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2007
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    get a friend to do the 2nd rebate for you
     
  12. lmac222

    lmac222 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    problem is they give u one invoice, which has my address on it. And you have to turn your invoice in with the rebate. Im still going to try it though. Whats the worst that could happen.
     
  13. wickedzx5

    wickedzx5 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    browse around newegg.com and see what kinda specials they are running. i know a few weeks ago they had a 500 GB Western Digital HDD for $99.99 without any rebates. see what you can find! having 1 terabyte will be nice but only for about a year. after that it will be pretty common place! hard drives are getting so cheap, so fast, that it will be almost stupid not to go with that much storage.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2007

Share This Page