1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new xbox hard drives

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware mods' started by smb2004, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. smb2004

    smb2004 Guest

    i'm planing on putting a mod chip in my xbox and want to upgrade the harddrive at the same time. will any brand of hard drive work? and is there anything special i need to do to it? partition/formating?
     
  2. Achilles3

    Achilles3 Guest

    I believe just about any Hard Drive will work as long as it's IDE/ATA type with 40-pin connector. Get Slayer's to format your HDD.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 29, 2004
  3. Twinski

    Twinski Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Depending on what chip you get you mihgt not need slayers, I have the X3 and a 300gig hard drive, and i didn't need slayers, because the x3 bios has so many features, that slayers is kinda pointless. By the way i have a Maxtor. I would also recomend the X3 awesome chip.
     
  4. baxterd

    baxterd Guest

    twinski,
    [bold]were[bold][bold]were[bold][bold]were[bold] did you score that deal email me at Frog_meistroe@hotmail.com

    i am a version 1.0 xbox holder
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2005
  5. Iat

    Iat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Twinski,
    What MFG DATE is your XBOX?

    Thanks
     
  6. baxterd

    baxterd Guest

    what is an mfg date for
     
  7. smac19

    smac19 Guest

    hi guys how to format a xbox
     
  8. kakeakeai

    kakeakeai Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what drives do you want to format?
     
  9. smac19

    smac19 Guest

    I want to upgrade my xbox HD and bought WD200g HD,and i wanted to format it by useing softmod is there anything special i need to do to it? partition/formating?
     
  10. kakeakeai

    kakeakeai Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    all u need to do is get evox.xbe your c and e drive and evox.ini. first take your ini and in the menu get rid of everything after unlockhd and put
    [Menu]
    Section "Install Menu"
    {
    Item "Install New Drive",@210
    Item "Settings",@9
    Item "Reboot",@5
    }

    [Action_10]

    Info "Install HDD"
    Warning "This will format all drives"
    Warning "Make sure you have a backup of C & E"
    Progress "Formatting Drives"

    ConfigSector "backupdisk.bin"
    Format c:
    Format e:
    Format f:
    Format g:
    Format x:
    format y:
    format z:

    [Action_11]

    [Action_12]
    also take out any # before the option lock hdd.
    then save it and put evox.xbe renamed as default.xbe and the new ini onto a disk. now boot your xbox normally and put the disk in the drive. boot to it. now hotswap the new drive into the xbox and click install hdd. after that is done ftp to it and put the c and e drives on. in the ini u must config it to use both f and g drives.now click lock hdd. take the disk out and reboot.your new drive is installed.
     
  11. smac19

    smac19 Guest

    so just only evox.xbe i need? and is there anything special programe that i can burn it wid on to the dics
     
  12. kakeakeai

    kakeakeai Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you have to add that extra stuff to the ini and then burn both the evox.xbe and the evox.ini to a disk with any burning program.
     
  13. Twinski

    Twinski Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sorry guys ive been gone for a while. But if anyone needs help with anything just reply to this thread and ill try to help sorry i couldn't help sooner.
     
  14. brando316

    brando316 Guest

    just put a 40 gig in my xbox do i need fans to cool it,i think its over heating,when ive been playing games on my hard drive for a while and switch off ,when i switch back on i have probs booting back up,the eject light flashes on and off,if i leave it for a while it works again does this mean my xbox is on the way out
     
  15. kakeakeai

    kakeakeai Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    in your bios increase the fan speed.
     
  16. brando316

    brando316 Guest

    dont mean to sound thick but how do you get into your bios,i went system management and it says my bios is unknown,the chip was already flashed when i got it and i had to install slayers myself i think its M8 bios
     
  17. t-traxxx

    t-traxxx Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i'm going to put a 250gig hd in my xbox. i have already installed slayer's evox auto installer. i looked through the whole menu section in the evox.ini file, and there isn't anything that says unlockhd. here's what is in my file under menu:
    [Menu]

    Section "Root"
    {
    Item "Play Game or Media from DVDROM Drive",ID_Launch_DVD
    Section "Play Games from HD"
    {
    Line "- Games on the Hard Drive -",2
    AutoAddItem "E:\GAMES\"
    AutoAddItem "E:\HDDLoader\"
    AutoAddItem "f:\GAMES\"
    AutoAddItem "f:\HDDLoader\"
    SortAll
    }
    Item "Game Trainers",ID_trainer
    Item "DVD MOVIE Player - Region Free","f:\Apps\DVDX\default.xbe"
    Section "Self Installed Emulators"
    {
    Line "- Emulators on Hard Drive -",2
    AutoAddItem "f:\Apps\Emulators\"
    SortAll
    }
    Item "Xbox Media Player - XBMP","f:\Apps\XBMP\default.xbe"
    Item "XboX Gentoo LINUX - Self Add-On","e:\gentooxx.xbe"
    Section "System Management"
    {
    Item "Game Management on Xbox HD","f:\Apps\HDDLoader\default.xbe"
    Item "Game and Media Backup Tool","f:\Apps\DvD2XboX\default.xbe"
    Item "Choose a Different Skin",ID_Skins
    Section "Launch Apps from HD"
    {
    Line "- Media and File Managers -",2
    Item "Dvd2Xbox Media Copier","f:\Apps\Dvd2Xbox\default.xbe"
    Item "PxHDD Loader","f:\Apps\HDDLoader\default.xbe"
    Item "Xbox File Explorer","f:\Apps\boXplorer\default.xbe"
    Line "- Auto Added Items -",2
    SortStart
    AutoAddItem "e:\Apps\"
    AutoAddItem "f:\Apps\"
    SortEnd

    i've never put a hd in an xbox before, so i want to make sure that i don't fusk anything up. also the evox.xbe file that you mentioned, is that called evoxdash.xbe? that's all i see in the folder that i found the evox.ini file in.

    i appreciate any help that anyone can give me. thanks!
     
  18. kakeakeai

    kakeakeai Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the files can be called something else yes as long as that is what your xbox boots to.
    in section root put this line after the last "item"line you have
    Item "Unlock Harddisk",@211
    that will unlock the hd.
    also if you put this in
    Item "Lock Harddisk",@210
    it will lock the hd with that xboxs key so you will need both.
     
  19. brando316

    brando316 Guest

    can i reflash my chip with slayers auto installer,currently using m8 bios
     
  20. t-traxxx

    t-traxxx Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i got the hd in fine using slayer's evox auto installer, but it's a 250 gig and it's only recognizing half of the size. does it only read as half the size, and actually store up to 250gigs? or is there something that i need to do to fix this?
     

Share This Page