1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

newbie trying to view .mpgs on dvd

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by drake-r8, Oct 31, 2004.

1. drake-r8

drake-r8 Member

Hello everyone! I'm new to afterdawn, and I'm trying to get an answer to this. I've read some of the guides - vcd/svcd to dvd, etc., but they don't answer my question! What I want to do is watch a bunch of .mpg movies on my standalone dvd player. The .mpg movies are 70 to 80 mb each, and most I have sourced from dvd. My portable polaroid dvd player will accept my dvd, provide a dos-style menu, and play one or all of the .mpg movies, but I can't find any other dvd player that will even read the disk! Is it even possible to do this? Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

drake-r8.

2. scf_au

scf_au Regular member

Try burn it with programs like Nero which would transform the mpeg files into formats compatible with stand alone DVD players.

3. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

Hi drake-r8,

You are pretty much there - follow the guides.

BTW, when you're going to use VCD's or SVCD you burn them to CD's NOT to DVD's. There is a difference between CD's and DVD's.

If you want to put those same things on DVD's they'll have to be rendered (Which takes a whole lot of time).

There are some simple transcoding proggys like NeroVision OR dvd Santa which will do it for you. Me, I like to use TMPGEnc to render it into an DVD compliant MPEG2 file then run it through TMPGEnc DVD Author to get your full VOB files (the VOB's you get from TMPGEnc aren't the correct format). Once you've done DVD Author, just burn to disc.

DVD Shrink will pick up it's too big and you can then compress it and burn to disc in a heartbeat :)

Cheers,

Pete

_X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    The “old man” Pete (ö¿ô)
    Compaq 8000, Pent IV CPU 2.84GHz, 1024MB RAM, 520GB HD.
    Pioneer 107, 8X R/W , Nec R/W ND-1300A, JLMS DVD ROM.