1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie - Won't playback on DVD player but will on computer

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by dvdmum, Apr 25, 2007.

1. dvdmum

dvdmum Member

I am having trouble playing my new backup copy on my DVD player and XBox, but works fine on my computer.

I am a newbie and am still in the learning process. I followed guides from this site to backup a movie. I followed the following guides:

1. Copy entire DVD-9 movie to a single DVD-R using DVD Shrink; and then
    2. How to burn a DVD folder with DVD Decrypter

The disc that I used was a 'Imatiion DVD-R'.
    My DVD player is 'Panasonic HDD & DVD' and also tried to play on my XBox. DVD which I have made from my panasonic have worked on the Xbox, so I presumed this would do the same??????

Have I done something wrong? I have spent a few hours searching guides and forums for answers but couldn't find one, HOPING SOMEBODY CAN HELP.....PLEASE!!!! Thankyou.

2. binkie7

binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

Imation uses different manufacturers for their dvd's so may just be a compatibility issue.

Check the burn speed in decrypter - if you didn't change it it probably burned at max. So change the burn speed in decrypter to half the rated speed of the media.
    Check and make sure the firmware is up to date on the burner too.
    You can do this is decrypter too. Go Tools>drive>check for firmware updates.
    You'll it a popup with the version you have then it will take you to the firmware page to see if there is a later one. If there is update to the latest version.

3. sorrow93

sorrow93 Regular member

@dvdmum
    if it plays perfectly on your pc drive you may have done nothing wrong just check your dvd-player manual for the media/discs it will play and perhaps change from Imation to another brand like Verbatim or TDK