1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

oh my.. please help..i'm really at wits end

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by yandao87, Mar 21, 2007.

  1. yandao87

    yandao87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i've a big problem i'm unable to solve.

    1) i switch on the cpu as normal
    2) win98se loading screen shows up
    3) before i enter windows, black background screen with those loading processes show up
    4) screen turns blank.
    5) i switch off the cpu and on again.
    6) edit: only LONG beeping sounds are heard. nothing shows up on the screen. the beep continues... never ending
    7) i tried remove 2 of the sdrams one by one - nothing changes

    i guess its video issue/motherboard?? my mother board(k7sem with 900mhz duron) has a built in video. anyone can help me???? :<
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2007
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    clear the cmos using the cmos jumper or remove battery as found it to kick start a system that wouldn't normally start. try a pci videocard to see if post or not.
     
  3. yandao87

    yandao87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i remove batt alreayd.... nothing changes. i'll try the pci video card when i have the chance to get one.. thanks for the advice
     
  4. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Is your cpu plugged in or might it have fried?
     
  5. yandao87

    yandao87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    plugging in as in?? processor has never been touched or taken out..

    what thign is fried?? how can i check?
    thanks for the advice
     
  6. elokito

    elokito Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    fried=dead if it was fried i dnt think it would actually pass the bios and half load windows
     
  7. Halen5150

    Halen5150 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Maybe the cpu fried WHILE it was booting up???


    Are you sure it's not your hdd failing???


    How about the psu???
     
  8. missing30

    missing30 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what is the sequence of beep you hear? One long and many short following is a video card issue.
     
  9. yandao87

    yandao87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    yeah cpu might be fried as i was booting halfway before i enter windows.. could be a possiblity, thereafter, i can't boot anymore. no post screen(definition of post screen is the memery amount and cpu speed etc when you first switch on right..)

    i don't think is hdd... cos hdd fail will still have post screen right... anyway i unpplug the hdd and still nothing showed up :<

    psu won't spoil right.. the fans all these moving when i switch on... hdd will still spin up..

    hope you all can help me.. thanks mAN!!!
     
  10. yandao87

    yandao87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    all constant long beeps... thanks for helping..
     
  11. missing30

    missing30 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What's the brand and model of your motherboard?
     
  12. yandao87

    yandao87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    as written on my first post, its ecs K7SEM v1.0 .... hope you can help. thanks.
     
  13. missing30

    missing30 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    According to this website it would be a memory error. Maybe both sdrams got bad, (psu issue). Can you put in a fresh one?
     
  14. yandao87

    yandao87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ram.. ok i'll try to see if i can get a spare one to test out. but could be cpu also right?? from your links.

    anyway thanks a lot manz
     

Share This Page