1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overclocking a 2700+ with an overclockable mobo

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by yugioh2me, Oct 2, 2004.

  1. yugioh2me

    yugioh2me Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I was wondering if i could overclock my AMD Athlon XP 2700+ CPU without making my computer restart whenever i turn it on.

    I have tried overclocking by changing the FSB in the bios and by using an overclocking program but when i do overclock, the computer restarts whenever i reach my desktop screen.

    If u know any way to overclock the CPU without making it restart all the time i would appreciate it if u told me.

    Im using a 5200 RPM fan to cool my CPU and I have one Case fan. Do u think I need another Case fan or something?

    My specs are in my sig' dbut the mobo isnt the one in my sig' its an ECS mobo that is overclockable.

    Thx
     
  2. agent-k

    agent-k Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    My first impressions are that this is usually one of two things.
    Either you need to increase the voltage to the processor core (vcore), or your Ram isn't fast enough to cope with the increased FSB. It doesn't say in your sig what speed your Ram is.
    If you decide to increase the vcore voltage then make sure it is by the smallest amount that you can and then test to see if it will boot to windows.
    I had the same trouble when overclocking my 2500, I eventually increased the vcore from 1.65volts to 1.80volts which is quite a jump but stays within 10% safety limit. It now runs very stable.
     
  3. yugioh2me

    yugioh2me Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    My memory is:

    Kingston 512MB 333MHz DDR PC2700 DIMM

    and i dont know how to change the voltage. Do i do it from the BIOS or is it some other way?

    Thx
     
  4. agent-k

    agent-k Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What are you setting the Fsb to when you try overclocking it?
    You alter the vcore setting in the bios. It's usually in the same section as the fsb setting. Remember that you must do it in small amounts until you get it stable.
    It looks like you are overclocking the memory by too much as well. You need to lock it down so that only the fsb is increasing, but we'll come to that later if need be.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    Athlon XP2500+Barton OC'd to XP3200+ running at 2.2Ghz
    Cooled by Thermaltake Extreme Volcano 12
    Asus A7N8X-X
    1Gig 400DDR Ram
    160Gb Seagate Barracuda[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2004
  5. yugioh2me

    yugioh2me Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I cant change the vcore.

    I tried finding a way to do it in the bios but no luck.

    When i do overclock i only overclock the fsb and nothing else.

    I tried overclocking at 170 fsb and it was OK

    I tried overclocking at 173 fsb and it caused some problems when i left the computer on for about 10 min.

    Any suggestions on what i should do?
     
  6. yugioh2me

    yugioh2me Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  7. yugioh2me

    yugioh2me Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello??
     
  8. rhfuller

    rhfuller Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have found a board that provides an overclocking program with the extra utilities. I am running an AOPEN AK77-600n
    xp 2700 pushing 2408 MHz
    fsb is set to 172 and a ratio setting of 14
    voltage at 1.675
    max fan a little slow 3515
    Temp for non gaming apps 45c 113f

    768 mb 2700
    dram clocked to 344 and 2.7 volts
    video card a bit slow but dont play many games any more. dont have the time.
    Gigabyte radeon 7000
    voltage at 1.52 and clocked at 68.8
    Thinking about installing my fic 9700 pro but .... anyway.

    PCI voltage 3.3 and speed of 34.40

    This board is full of features ( in my opinion ) and at a decent price of $58 through newegg.
    All overclocking done in a small app right on the screen and with proggies running. so you can gradually amp up and check out the results as you go.
    In addition if you go over board it has a built in reset to the last good bootable setting so you dont hose up the system and have to reset the bio.

    hope this helps you with what you are looking for.
    need anything else email me... rickhfuller hotmail com
     

Share This Page