1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

overclocking my athalon xp 2800

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by danny245, Mar 14, 2005.

  1. danny245

    danny245 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi i am new to this over clocking and i am having a few problems
    1,i can not change my voltage
    2, my ram is saying its 166 mhz and not 333mhz
    3, it is saying my temp on processor is 63oc which i think must be wrong as i have a aftermarket cooling fan.
    any help will be fantastic thanks danny
     
  2. wdowsing

    wdowsing Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2005
  3. danny245

    danny245 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yeah i have had a look at it i have tried to overclock my pc and got it running 2 a xp 3200 at and nearly 400mhz fsb . i just cant understand why my pc is saying my ram is 166mhz and not 333mhz i have tried to get software called clockgen but it does not support my mother board and as for the temp did i miss a wire when i put it all together it just seems strange it is always on 63oc it never moves even on games
     
  4. nohelpme

    nohelpme Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    becuase 166 is 333....
    becuase 200 is 400.... You have to take your 166 and mulitple by 2
     
  5. danny245

    danny245 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok thanks i think i understand so even as it is saying pc2700 166mhz its really running at 333mhz
     
  6. nohelpme

    nohelpme Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You got it that is right.
     
  7. danny245

    danny245 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks like i said i am new to this stuff. have you got any idea whats going on with my temp on my chip it is saying its 63oc but i dont belive it any ideas
     
  8. nohelpme

    nohelpme Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It could be they run very hot
     
  9. danny245

    danny245 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yeah might be its just weird there is a thing in bios where you can check temp and its around 36oc when booted up and then when i play games for a long time and recheck its only gone up to around 47 max, but when i use software to check it never moves thats why i am thinking i missed a wire , thanks danny
     
  10. danny245

    danny245 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    my head hurts its just a nigiling little thing
     
  11. nohelpme

    nohelpme Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    danny take the fsb and set it at 190 see what happens
     
  12. danny245

    danny245 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what will i be looking out for
     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    if you are going to overclock the cpu than get a new & bigger heatsink/fan unit to help reduce the temp or you'll fry that cpu
     
  14. danny245

    danny245 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yeah i got akasa i cant remember what model it but it was about £15 its a gud one and i put some silver thermal compound on to but it still says 63oc do you think having a fan controller in will make a diffrence
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    the fan is probably going at full speed now
     
  16. danny245

    danny245 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    is spinning at 3308 is that good or bad ?
     
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    depending on the fan but yes it is good as i've seen fans spin from the 2000's to the 5000's rpm just depends on the fan motor
     

Share This Page