1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pc shuts down just after reaching desktop.

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by Ddams, Mar 26, 2007.

  1. Ddams

    Ddams Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello all,

    My friends pc boots up to a desktop and then it hungs ie. icons do not open and eventually it shuts down. He is having 80gb and is now left with 2gb free space. he says he has seen what he thinks is a virus called "BRONTOOK when it pops up it shows as if the PC is searching the net (its green in color) He has tried anti virus but failed" The pc has never been connected to the internet.

    How can I help him?
     
  2. irongiant

    irongiant Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Best thing to do when booting up hit F8 key to boot the computer on save mode and run the virus scan, if he never been connected to the internet to get any viruses then your boot registry might have got corrupted some how. worse case scenerio he might have to re-install windows.
     
  3. Ddams

    Ddams Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks,

    is possibleto reinstal windows without losing any data eg using the repare option. I wonder also whether using the restore function can help. How does he go about restore. I note that he has alredy tried virus scan.

    more clarification.
     
  4. Ddams

    Ddams Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
     
  5. irongiant

    irongiant Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well to run windows restore you have to do the same, boot windows on safe mode, and run windows restore from there, just gotta make sure to choose a restore before he started having the problems, but like i mention worse case scenerio, he gonna have to re-install windows.
     
  6. 3lement

    3lement Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you have genuine windows then you can just put in the disc press f8 on the black bios screen and let it boot up then click system restore. (not the whole system restore just to a previous state.)If not then id just do a full system restore.
     

Share This Page