1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pc wont boot after bios update

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by eire, Dec 15, 2007.

  1. eire

    eire Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi, i have a major problem, i recently purchased a bios update for my pc and installed it following the directions, i got the ok message and told to remove the cd so i did and the pc restarted itself but freezes as soon as it turns on now. It wont even let me into setup.


    Can anyone help please?
    Please tell me it can be sorted.
     
  2. QuikDraw

    QuikDraw Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    EDIT
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2007
  3. eire

    eire Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just dont know how i did install the wrong one it was a phoenix one i went onto the phoenix site and they scanned my system and said this was the one i needed, i downloaded it from their site after paying for it.

    Could something else be wrong?

    I emailed them too but no reply yet. I'd say it'll be next week before i hear from them.
     
  4. QuikDraw

    QuikDraw Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    EDIT
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2007
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    moved to correct forum as is not a windows issue.
     
  6. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,708
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I have not heard of having to pay for a BIOS update for a motherboard.

    You can try clearing the CMOS, by opening the computer and pulling the battery out for about 10-15 seconds and putting it back in. It may work.
     
  7. QuikDraw

    QuikDraw Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    EDIT
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2007
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    QuikDraw, eire says it freezes in his post screen not windows so i think clearing the cmos will not work at all.

    eire, what is the make & model# of the computer or motherboard?
     
  9. eire

    eire Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for your help.

    Its an Advent T11 with a pentium 4 3.6ghz processor. Not sure of the motherboard however it is a phoenix bios.

    The reason i wanted to update the bios was that i wanted to be able to boot the pc from a usb (to flash a sammy xbox 360 drive) and the bios wouldn't allow this. The date of the original bios was 2004.

    Is there such a thing as a bad flash recovery?
     
  10. QuikDraw

    QuikDraw Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    EDIT
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2007
  11. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,708
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    @ QuickDraw and ddp: I certainly didn't want to start an argument. I was only try to help eire.

    If clearing the CMOS won't work, then what about flasing back to the original? I can do that with my Asus motherboards.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2007
  12. QuikDraw

    QuikDraw Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    All previous comments have been removed. Not trying to cause any problems. Yes, there's a chance in flashing back to the original BIOS, certainly worth a try.
    Here's some information I found on the Advent T11 Mobo.
    http://www.wimsbios.com/phpBB2/topic9008.html
    Hope this helps. And good luck!
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2007
  13. eire

    eire Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for all your help guys. I tried removing the cmos battery and putting it back in after a few hours. This has helped to a degree as i can now get into setup as the system boots but it just freezes on the next screen saying CMOS checksum error - defaults loaded, insert disk and press enter.

    Any ideas?
     
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    go into the bios & see if the hd is there. is your hd an ide or sata?
     
  15. eire

    eire Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes i can see the hd in bios and its an ide hd.
     
  16. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is it set as the boot drive?
     
  17. eire

    eire Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah i made sure it was set as first boot.
     
  18. eire

    eire Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry, i made a mistake the hdd is actually sata. The motherboard is MS-7046 version 1 if this helps at all.

    I downloaded the manual and it suggested clearing the cmos so i did but still to no avail.

    Any ideas please?
     
  19. eire

    eire Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i feel so stupid, no i cant see the hdd in bios, what does this mean?
     
  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check your motherboard manual or computer user guide about how to enable the sata ports on the motherboard. also go thru the bios if don't have either of those 2 documents to see about enabling the sata ports.
     

Share This Page