1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 108 only burning at 1x

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by prerunner, Oct 7, 2004.

  1. prerunner

    prerunner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just upgraded my dvd burner from the pioneer a05 to the 108 and for some reason they both will only burn at 1x. They both say that they are burning at 4x but to burn a dvd it takes 1 hour.
    My system
    Dell
    2.8 gig with HT
    40 gig hard drive 7200 rm
    256 ram Dual Channel


    I'm using ritek dvd-r up to 4x
    I'm burning with about 50% used read buffer.
    Updated to the 1.14 firmware also
    Do i need more ram?
    Thanks

     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2004
  2. prerunner

    prerunner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    And i'm using Nero 6.3.1.25

     
  3. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Wrong forum. Thread moved.

    Have you checked your DMA settings?
     
  4. prerunner

    prerunner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK look's like i'm running in PIO mode not DMA. how can i fix that?
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2004
  5. prerunner

    prerunner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried to switch them to DMA mode but after restart they go back to pio.
    I have two hard drives and i think that they are both on DMA becuase it says that device 0 is dma ultra but device 1 is PIO?


    Both of my dvd rom's are using the same IDE cable. Should i change the cables?

     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2004
  6. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    A common issue..........eh Nephilim....

    Maybe your cable, better to use an 80 way rather than a 40 way one.

    OR More commonly.........

    2 possibilities:

    1. Either uninstall the drive, reboot and let windows re-install it.
    2. Or uninstall the IDE Controller of your suspect burner, reboot and let windows re-install it.(this one usually does the trick).

    This regularly happens during the read of a dvd, if windows encounters several read problems, then it adjusts itself down to PIO Mode in order to obtain the data, the drawback is that it retains the PIO mode unless you manually uninstall the conroller OR the drive itself.......
    I think it is 6 attempts then reverts to PIO Mode (maybe wrong though)..........
     
  7. prerunner

    prerunner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well i took the drive out and ran the computer. I realized that one of my hard drives was running in PIO mode. SO i got that to run in DMA and then re-installed the DVD burner and it set to DMA. I can burn at 4x. I installed the other dvd drive and it was running in DMA also. The computer seems faster and the dvd-burner is work perfect.

    THANKS to all that helped me solve my problems.
    Thanks to the forums also!
    -Prerunner
     
  8. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    A big smile from Nephilim and baabaa...........Glad we could help..........

    And Welcome to Afterdawn
     
  9. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    And don't be stranger either! :D
     

Share This Page