1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PLEASE HELP ME! NT NIGHTMARE!!!

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by egan, Jul 31, 2003.

1. egan

egan Member

Hi,

I would be so glad if someone could help me with a problem I've created on my computer running NT with an upgrade to xp.

I brought it home from work the other day where it's been on a network (university). Until now, I've been able to log into my NT account using the username and password supplied to me by the university.

Unfortunately, I made the mistake of trying to network the machine to my laptop using a crossover cable. Given I have no experience in doing this I thought I might play around with the machine and here's what I did:

I right clicked My Computer and went to properties and then computer name. I then clicked the Network ID button and selected the 'This computer is for home use and is not part of a business network' option. I then restarted the machine to find that it will not accept my username and password.

Can anyone help? Is there a way of putting it back the wya it was without logging on??

Thanks in advance,

Egan

2. Xian

Xian Regular member

Try logging on as administrator if you know the local administrator password or with your username/password on the local pc instead of the domain. Do you get three boxes on startup, a username, password, and domain box? Click the down arrow on the third and make sure it is set to log on to the local pc.