1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please Help

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by AngelaMag, Mar 16, 2005.

1. AngelaMag

AngelaMag Guest

HI im a newbie..just purchased a Sony DVD+R dual layer cd burner(internal) ...installing it into my pc seems to be the easiest part so far..i have downloaded the dvd decrypter..but after running that a few times i am still lost...is there a step by step quide i could follow>? im trying to burn the movie Collateral..which is bigger then 4.6mb..please help and ty..angela

2. arniebear

arniebear Active member

Try this site for full guide to backing up DVD

http://home.comcast.net/~bbmayo/

It explains all. You need to use DVD Decrypter and DVD Shrink. Look at the software section at top of page.

Last edited: Mar 16, 2005
  3. AngelaMag

AngelaMag Guest

tyvm for your quick response...im there now..WISH me luck!!!

4. AngelaMag

AngelaMag Guest

Thanks so much I succesfully burned the DVD~~~!!!...antoher question..is there anyway to incread read and write speeds? My burner did read and write both at 1.4 x's,kinda slow..anyway to increase it? Angela

5. squizzle

squizzle Active member

Might be stuck in PIO mode. Do a search on switching to DMA. You want to be in DMA mode or UDMA (Ultra DMA), not PIO.

Or for some reason your burn speed in the program you are burning with might be set at 1.4x or minimum or something like that.

6. AngelaMag

AngelaMag Guest

i did the dma search and did as asked..uninstalled the driver and reboot...no change..i am burning cds directly with the dvd decrypter program but i do have nero installed....any other suggetstions?

7. baabaa

baabaa Active member

Rather than uninstalling the device, uninstall the controller instead........

Check your DMA settings in device manager, it sounds like they maybe set on PIO Mode.

Right click My Computer
    Click on Properties
    Click on Hardware
    Click on Device Manager