1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Powerless eurovox 2008

Discussion in 'Digital TV - United States & Canada' started by Heno, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. Heno

    Heno Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    have a eurovox 2008..atleast i think i do.
    it may be a clone of a previous model in the 2008 chasis.
    but it has died, it refuses to power on..is this a problem with the box or would it be a power supply issue caused by a short circuit.
    im an electronic engineer so i would be able to fix it if that was the case but i dnt want to void the "guarantee" on it if its something else
    last night it asked to be returned to the distributer beacuse it had developed a fault. and has now refused to power at all...not even to stand by.
    any suggestions on how to fix?
     
  2. jimpage

    jimpage Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    if it's a clone can jtag it for you, I'm in Dublin 15.
     
  3. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You can jtag the blue and red but the black tsop has not been read yet and so there is no safe image to jtag a 2008 model, how can you do this?
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2007
  4. tommoo

    tommoo Guest

    I have the exact same issue with my euro vox 08. Did you manage to get a resolution or troubleshooting help or does the box need to be returned to the seller? Thx
     
  5. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    If its a Max V you must not have it that long and therefore it is still in warranty so I would send it back and ask for a replacement that has been flashed with the latest critical update.
     
  6. Heno

    Heno Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no change to box yet...
    though i did contact distributor and they asked to confirm the software installed.
    so i think it may be a software issue.
    im pretty sure its not a cloned box at the minute.
    warantee should still be in date.
    would rather be able to click a few buttons to sort it myself rather than waste time in sending it back and gettin the replacement
    the world cup is on cant be missing that.
     
  7. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Sorry to say it cannot be fixed by just pressing a few buttons and as yet the back tsop has not been read and the jtag method for this is not ready yet.
     
  8. Heno

    Heno Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    if i reloaded the software to it would that make a difference or is it best to just send it back?
     
  9. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If it refuses to power on you will not be able to load new firmware to it so I would send it back under warranty.
     
  10. jimpage

    jimpage Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Correction, if it's an original Blue/Red box or clone Blue box can jtag it. I Never mentioned current black box.
     
  11. Heno

    Heno Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i think its the black box..
    cheers for the help anyway
    looks like its going back anyway
     
  12. NunianFuc

    NunianFuc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the same problem but unfortunately mine arrived with the warranty seal broken so it can't be returned. I thought I'd be able to jtag it but it appears not. Does this all mean I have a doorstop at least until the black box's tsop is read?
     
  13. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Sorry to say but yes.
     
  14. NunianFuc

    NunianFuc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well cheers for the quick and frank reply I guess. Next time I'll just return it instantly if said warranty stickers are broken and not order from the seller again.
     
  15. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Should not be long for the black tsop file come back here and check again all the info will be here then.
     
  16. NunianFuc

    NunianFuc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Will do. Hope for the future :D
     
  17. chrism23

    chrism23 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have had the same issue with 2008 boxes and a 2007 box, the gy I bought them off said to send it back and he replaced it asap. However, if anyone knows what to do about it, please put it up here, saves having to send them back.
     

Share This Page