1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem: DVD-RB with QuEnc

Discussion in 'Copy DVD to DVDR' started by ursa1, Sep 30, 2004.

  1. ursa1

    ursa1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Using dvd-rb 0.62 in one-click mode with the following versions:
    avisynth 2.5
    dvd decrypter 3.5.1
    mpeg2dec3dg.dll 1.0.1.0 (for avisynth 2.5)
    quenc 0.51

    Transcoding...
    -----------------
    [13:34:18] Phase I, PREPARATION started.
    - "Half-D1/Half Space for Extras" mode is enabled.
    - "Steal Space from Extras" mode is enabled.
    - VTS_01: 2,276,707 sectors.
    -- Scanning and writing .D2V file
    -- Processed 147,198 frames.
    -- Building .AVS and .ECL files
    - VTS_03: 1,077,294 sectors.
    -- Scanning and writing .D2V file
    -- Processed 100,745 frames.
    -- Building .AVS and .ECL files
    - VTS_04: 134,905 sectors.
    -- Scanning and writing .D2V file
    -- Processed 12,074 frames.
    -- Building .AVS and .ECL files
    - VTS_05: 39,650 sectors.
    -- Scanning and writing .D2V file
    -- Processed 3,974 frames.
    -- Building .AVS and .ECL files
    - Reduction Level for DVD-5: 53.3%
    - Overall Bitrate : 2,472Kbs
    - Space for Video : 3,322,782KB
    - Movie improvement from extra reduction = 46.5%
    - HIGH/LOW/AVERAGE Cell Bitrates: 4,900/100/2,472 Kbs
    [13:38:40] Phase I, PREPARATION completed in 4 minutes.
    [13:38:41] Phase II ENCODING started

    .... here's where the error messages start. for each of the following, i get "quenc bad parameter" or "quenc invalid parameter" (I can't remember which), but i click ok for each and finally, there is an abort....

    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 0
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 1
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 2
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 3
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 4
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 5
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 6
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 7
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 8
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 9
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 10
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 11
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 12
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 13
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 14
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 15
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 16
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 17
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 18
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 19
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 20
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 21
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 22
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 23
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 24
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 25
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 26
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 27
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 28
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 29
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 30
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 31
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 32
    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 33
    - Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 0
    - Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 1
    - Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 2
    - Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 3
    - Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 4
    - Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 5
    - Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 6
    - Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 7
    - Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 8
    - Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 9
    - Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 10
    - Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 11
    - Creating M2V for VTS_04 segment 0
    - Creating M2V for VTS_04 segment 1
    - Creating M2V for VTS_04 segment 2
    - Creating M2V for VTS_04 segment 3
    - Creating M2V for VTS_04 segment 4
    - Creating M2V for VTS_04 segment 5
    - Creating M2V for VTS_04 segment 6
    - Creating M2V for VTS_04 segment 7
    - Creating M2V for VTS_05 segment 0
    - Creating M2V for VTS_05 segment 1
    [13:40:07] Phase II ENCODING completed in 2 minutes.
    [13:40:07] Phase III, REBUILD started.
    - Copying IFO, BUP, and unaltered files...
    Rebuild aborted.

    ... here's where dvd-rb says "there's nothing to do" and aborts the operation. this is the first time that i'm using this software setup so i'm completely stumped and need some help.


     
  2. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    In your working directory there will be a folder called D2VAVS. That's the folder DVD-RB puts everything it creates except the final DVD files. The M2V (MPEG-2 video) files for your backup should be there. If they are, try playing one. If they aren't there, try playing one of the AVS files to see if you get an error message.
     
  3. ursa1

    ursa1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    no, there are no M2V files... but i have about 53 paired AVS and FLG files. if QuEnc wants to build these M2V files, i got about that many error messages from QuEnc telling me "bad parameter," probably one for each of these attempts to create an M2V file:

    - Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 0
    .
    .
    .
    - Creating M2V for VTS_05 segment 1

    but to take your second suggestion, can you tell me how to play an AVS file?
     
  4. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Just about any media player application that can play an AVI will play an AVS file. Windows Media Player should work fine if you don't have anything else. I use Media Player Classic personally.

    I had a feeling there wouldn't be any M2V files because the message you got essentially means there weren't any re-encoded video files to rebuild. I'm not knowledgeable about QuEnc, but it could very well be an AviSynth problem, in which case I should be able to help out.
     
  5. ursa1

    ursa1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i use media player classic, too. here's what it said:

    Media Player Classic could not render some of the pins in the graph, you may not have the needed codecs or filters installed on the system.

    The following pin(s) failed to find a connectable filter:

    F:\DVD_VIDEO_WORKING\D2VAVS\V01000000001001.AVS::Avisynth video #1

    Stream 0

    Media Type 0:
    --------------------------
    AM_MEDIA_TYPE:
    majortype: MEDIATYPE_Video {73646976-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
    subtype: MEDIASUBTYPE_YV12 {32315659-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
    formattype: FORMAT_VideoInfo {05589F80-C356-11CE-BF01-00AA0055595A}
    bFixedSizeSamples: 1
    bTemporalCompression: 0
    lSampleSize: 518400
    cbFormat: 88

    VIDEOINFOHEADER:
    rcSource: (0,0)-(0,0)
    rcTarget: (0,0)-(0,0)
    dwBitRate: 0
    dwBitErrorRate: 0
    AvgTimePerFrame: 417083

    BITMAPINFOHEADER:
    biSize: 40
    biWidth: 720
    biHeight: 480
    biPlanes: 1
    biBitCount: 12
    biCompression: YV12
    biSizeImage: 518400
    biXPelsPerMeter: 0
    biYPelsPerMeter: 0
    biYPelsPerMeter: 0
    biClrUsed: 0
    biClrImportant: 0
     
  6. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I'd recommend uninstalling and reinstalling AviSynth.
     
  7. ursa1

    ursa1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i did as you suggested, uninstalled and then reinstalled avisynth but the results were the same: "bad parameter" in QuEnc when trying to encode.

    i have all the software installed in
    .. c:\program files\DVD-Rip:
    avcodec.dll
    quenc.exe
    quenc_settings.txt
    rebuilder.exe
    rebuilder.ini
    rebuilder.txt
    ..in subfolder
    .. c:\program files\DVD-Rip\AviSynth 2.5:
    gpl.txt
    uninstall.exe
    .. in subfolder
    .. c:\program files\DVD-Rip\AviSynth 2.5\plugins:
    mpeg2dec3dg.dll
    .. and two other subfolders:
    .. c:\program files\DVD-Rip\AviSynth 2.5\docs
    .. and
    .. c:\program files\DVD-Rip\AviSynth 2.5\examples

    does this structure seem correct?

    in rebuilder/options/setup, i set the path to QuEnc and the path to mpeg2dec3dg.dll. "Add to AVS file" box is checked.

    are there any options that i may have missed?

    i manually ran QuEnc and selected one of the AVS files in the working folder and it was actually encoded so that i could view it using media player classic.

     
  8. jdobbs

    jdobbs Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You need to upgrade your version of QuEnc to v0.54. You can get it under the downloads section of www.doom9.org or right here at afterdawn:

    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/video_encoders/quenc.cfm

    Here is a quote from the DVD-RB readme:

    - Updated code for compatibility with QuEnc 0.52 and above. The KVCD command line logic has been replaced by the QuEnc Lower Bitrate (QLB) Matrix option. Older versions of QuEnc will no longer be supported and will get an error if use is attempted. QuEnc 0.52+ is free and is easily found on the net.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2004
  9. ursa1

    ursa1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thankyou. Upgrading QuEnc to version v0.54 corrected the problem. Sorry for not noticing that caution in the dvd-rb readme.
     

Share This Page