1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 won't play DVD

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by jiteshkv, Jul 4, 2007.

1. jiteshkv

jiteshkv Member

Hi,

I am new to this site and am not sure if this is the correct head under which I should be posting this question...anyways...I am giving it a try and hope to get some good answers.

I downloaded Playboy-The Mansion from torrent network and received a .tar file which I extracted to my HDD. I now have a .mdf and a .mds file (with same name) on my HDD. I used Alcohol 120% to view the contents of the .mdf file and tried to burn the contents to a DVD 16x disc. The problem is my PS2 won't recognize the disc and says "Can't play this disc" or something like this....please HELP!!! :( :(

2. fadaching

fadaching Member

im also new to this whole thing but if im not mistaken you need a mod chip in your ps2

3. jiteshkv

jiteshkv Member

well...my ps2 does have modchip and all other games just work fine...this is happening with this particular game. Any other suggestions?

4. terryn0

terryn0 Member

OK, Im determining that you probably burned the game at a 16x speed from what you said (not saying you did, just guessing).

This is the golden rule of burning games (or anything else for that matter): always burn at a 4x speed NO MATTER WHAT. It always works better at a 4x speed. Some people suggest burning at 2x but i have actually found that even 2x (strange though because its lower and should produce better quality) will make the game lag sometimes. So i would suggest just sticking to 4x.

If i were you, i would go get some 4x DVDs instead of 16x because some computers wont read higher speed disks at lower lvls. You can find them at Rite-Aid usually.

Last edited: Jul 7, 2007
  5. jiteshkv

jiteshkv Member