1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question re PCIe x16

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by thurman1, Dec 16, 2004.

  1. thurman1

    thurman1 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I use a multiple monitor set up and if I build a pc with an LGA 775 mobo/cpu, they seem to have only 1 PCIe x16 slot. Using a dual head card I can run two monitors, but what if I want more? There are no more PCIe x16 slots. How would I do it? Would I use the PCIe x1 slots or the regular PCI slots? Help?
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    windows is supposed to allow multiple monitors but why use more than 2 unless trying surroundvision for gaming
     
  3. thurman1

    thurman1 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am a trader, so I use 3-6 monitors sometimes for viewing charts and other trading platforms.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    well as long as video cards don't conflict with irq's & other things, should be able to put as many monitors as cards can handle
     
  5. thurman1

    thurman1 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    do you m ean I can put a card in the PCIex16 slot and then use a regular PCI card alongside it? And what in the world is a PCIex1 slot anyways?
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128

Share This Page