1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ran a spyware and now I don't have an internet connection

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by chewy35, Oct 10, 2007.

  1. chewy35

    chewy35 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a computer that couldn't log into e-mail, so I ran an antivirus and spyware on it. Now it doesn't get an internet connection. There are no conflicts on the device manager. Please, help me out. I don't really want to take it out to a pc shop. I just can't figure out what it is. Thanks again!
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    do a system restore to before your problem started.
     
  3. DoubleDwn

    DoubleDwn Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What kind of internet connection do you have? What kind of networking hardware? Do you have an IP address? What is it? Can you ping your DNS server?

    You may just have a corrupt TCP/IP stack. Download this, and run.
    http://www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.html
    It should rebuild the stack and may fix the problem.

    ~Rich
     
  4. chewy35

    chewy35 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Rich,
    I had called a PC in town and they had mentioned the same thing. I was already frustrated, but let me try this first. Thanks.
     
  5. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,708
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Rich, if he doesn't have an internet connection, he can't do that. :)
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    he is on the net as he is posting so is using a computer to do so.
     
  7. chewy35

    chewy35 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm actually on another computer I have at home. The one affected is one that I had sold to my sister in law. I'm going to get to work in a few minutes, wish me luck!
     
  8. chewy35

    chewy35 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I ran the stack fix and I still don't have a connection. Any suggestions?
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    how about system restore?
     
  10. chewy35

    chewy35 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the restore point is after the damage was done. I think I'm gonna have to drop the cash to have it repaired.
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    how about before the email problem?
     

Share This Page