1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

slow analyzing and encoding

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by DennisLee, Dec 22, 2004.

  1. DennisLee

    DennisLee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a AMD Athlon 1.15 GHz , 384 mb ram, running xp pro, I have used DVDshrink and decrypter for the past week and backed up and burned about 10 dvd's.
    All of the sudden it has gotten very slow and even errors like (cyclic redundancy error) which I know is usually bad disc or dirty, but what will slow the analyzing and encoding down ? before it took like 45 min to 1 hr, now its like 2 hrs, I have checked and my IDE says ( DMA if available) Please help
     
  2. G-4CE

    G-4CE Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    times will depend on how big the dvd is also for your pc specs that time scale can be expected similar to my old pc that had an average of 1hr 45mins and it could also go slower if you are using alot of hard drive space and a number of other pc performance related problems
     
  3. SurfDude

    SurfDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try to Defragment the HD Also DELETE the backed Movies from your HD


    BTW I have a Pentium 4 2.6 Ghz, 640MB of RAM, XP Pro and it takes from :30 to 1:15 hrs, (so you're not that bad I guess)
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2004
  4. DennisLee

    DennisLee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks , I have defraged and cleaned out my pc as much as I can, Do you think increasing the virtual memory may help?
     
  5. SurfDude

    SurfDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2004
  6. DennisLee

    DennisLee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Now I am talking about virtual memory, not random access memory(RAM). If you are talking about ram I have 384MB, My virtual memory on the pc is set to 576mb, it can be set as high as 1152mb, if this will help , do you know?
     
  7. SurfDude

    SurfDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I thought you were talking of RAM. But still been a YES to upgrade ;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2004
  8. DennisLee

    DennisLee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for the imformation
     
  9. SurfDude

    SurfDude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

Share This Page