1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Software for AVI-DVD coversion

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by cyberskid, Feb 19, 2004.

1. cyberskid

cyberskid Member

Hello i am very new to this...so be gentle...i have downloaded a AVI movie and would like to convert it to DVD/VCD format for playback on my TV/DVD player. Can anybody tell me how to do this/where to get the software(free if poss) your help would be most appreciated...

2. Minion

Minion Senior member

Well if you want to do it for Free then you can Use Tmpgenc to encode the AVI to Mpeg 2 and then use "Tmpgenc DVD author" to Author the Mpeg2 file with menu"s and Chapters to DVD-R, Both these Programs have 30 day Demo versions...A few things you should Know before you encode your AVI file to Mpeg2 for DVD are ,You should decompress the audio in your AVI file before encodeing it to Mpeg2 in Tmpgenc , This is because Most encoders do not like Compressed audio...If you PM me with your E-Mail address I will send you a Tool called "Decompress.exe" that will turn your AVI with compressed audio into an AVI with Uncompressed audio that you can easilly encode to Mpeg2 useing Tmpgenc....