1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sound issues

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by andrew21, Feb 2, 2008.

  1. andrew21

    andrew21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When I was capturing some videos from a camcorder I didn't think to put a splitter on the audio cable so I could hook it into both the right and left channels, as a result the audio only comes through one side, and very quietly. Does anyone know of a way to do something about it? I'm not really sure what, maybe something like cloning the audio? The capture software I have is just Studio 9.
    Any help would be appreciated thanks.
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    What format are the captured file?
     
  3. andrew21

    andrew21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the capture format is set to mpeg (high quality) so the files are avi
    any other information you need?

     
  4. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    If the files are AVI, you can load one into VirtualDub.
    Run VirtualDub.
    Drag the AVI onto the window.
    Click 'Video' > 'Direct Stream Copy'
    Click 'Audio' > 'Full Processing Mode' then click 'Volume'
    Check the box and move the slider- 'OK'.
    Click the output play button and see if the volume suits.
    Click 'Audio' > 'Compression' Choose 'Lame MP3'
    Select either 48000, 128,CBR, stereo or 44100 etc.
    Click 'File' > 'Save as AVI'

    VirtualDub runs out of it's folder - no installation.

    The codec can be uninstalled from Control Panel.

    VirtualDub, look for 'stable' download.
    http://virtualdub.sourceforge.net/

    Lame MP3 codec
    Right click on 'LameACM.inf' file and Install
    http://www.afterdawn.com/news/archive/4866.cfm

    [​IMG]
     
  5. andrew21

    andrew21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    wow thanks, that worked great
     
  6. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Okey-dokey.
     

Share This Page