1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange thing on my XBOX!

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by urgubal, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. urgubal

    urgubal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello!

    I use an old-time xbox, that's been chipped.
    I've never had any problems with it until now.

    Suddenly when I boot the xbox, all my menus have disappeared, except the following one's:

    MS Dashboard
    Reboot
    Power Off
    Settings
    Backup
    Flash BIOS

    All the menus that goes to my program's, video's and game's have vanished.
    The harddrive has not been formatted, or any thing's been deleted (I think), and
    I can still reach all the data through my computer using a FTP-client.
    I've never done any updating or changed any special settings, unless it has done anything on its own through the Internet.

    Can anyone please help me with this dilemma? I would really appreciate it

    Best regards
    Urgubal
     
  2. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    This is the 360 forum not the xbox forum.
     
  3. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Yea, and there is no Xbox forum anymore. I would have posted that question here too.
    I can't be of any help, sorry, my old Xbox 1 is long gone.
     
  4. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Time to invest in a better system
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    moved to correct forum as not a xbox 360 issue.
     
  6. xboxdvl2

    xboxdvl2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    48
    sounds to me like the xbox has been chipped but no one put a new dashboard on it.perhaps someone messed around with it and done something they shouldnt.
     
  7. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,013
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    What you have written there looks like your modchips original BIOS it's pretty similar to mine except i have an extra line "xbmc",so assuming yours was setup to bypass that screen check settings perhaps your dash was disabled some how,this is of coarse assuming it is actually chipped as i have no idea what a softmod dash or boot menu looks like
     
  8. urgubal

    urgubal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okey, thank's!
     
  9. urgubal

    urgubal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okey, well... It's very strange, I think. Unless of course some one has tempered with it, which I found unlikely.

    On the Settings/info menu, below the BIOS information, it says:

    BIOS version : Unkown
    Kernel Version : 1.00.5838.01
    Xbxox hardware info (something, something)

    Unkown BIOS version? That's seems odd.


    The only thing's that's disabled is below the MISC settings:

    TSR Disabled

    ...This must be the work of a poltergeist or somehing. :O
     
  10. urgubal

    urgubal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I get this message on the xboxdash.xbe-file:

    - This application cannot run using the active version of the Microsoft .NET Runtime
    Please contact the application's support team for more information.
     
  11. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,013
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    The AID 4.50 disc could be used to see if the box boots to xbmc,it's a live reinstaller disc for hard or soft mod boxes,comes with everything,using the file manager you might be able to boot xbmc once the xbmc .xbe is clicked,whatever you do tho don't delete anything or format since your games etc are still intact

    edit:it might be better to find a local xbox repair person & see what they think & i repeat DON'T FORMAT OR DELETE ANYTHING unless you have it backed up,by rights there's no reason to change F or G keeping those as they are especially the games & movie folders will allow access as the other partitions can be repaired
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011
  12. urgubal

    urgubal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank's for the advice! I haven't really done anything, hence my total confusion on this matter. Though, I would've rather fixed it myself. :(
     
  13. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,013
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    check your pm inbox ok forget about the pm go here create a topic if they can't help fix it no one can,don't use the shout box to ask the question just let them know you've made a post & need help,it would pay to know what modchip it has i would think as well

    http://www.elitemodscene.com/
     
  14. xboxdvl2

    xboxdvl2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i'd say back up your data (unless you plan on losing it) then flash the bios then install a new dashboard.I havnt worked on an xbox in years.someone with more experience might be able to advice you.
     
  15. ps355528

    ps355528 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    48
    it's chipped.. and it's lost it's dash file.. which is dead easy to fix if you know what you are doing.. get in by ftp and looksee if there is an evox.ini file.. if there is open it with a plaintext editor (I use nano.. something like that or kate or bluefish is good) and copy/paste it here and I'll have a look and see whats going on for you.. thats the file you need to understand.. IF the application you were using as a dash has been deleted or just gone wrong (xbmc anybody?) the box will always revert to that stock dash variant (failsafe in evox bios to xodash.xbe)

    don't change anything yet.. we will probably only need to edit a line to get full function restored ;)
     
  16. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,013
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
  17. ps355528

    ps355528 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    48
    We might have hit the nail on the head.. the dash that was coming up was the stock xodash.xbe that runs after an error16 recovery with halo2 cheat.. usually all that needs doing after that is a quick path edit to evox.ini to point the boot at the right dash file and normal service is resumed.. usually.. :)
     

Share This Page