1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subtitle problem

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Vaker, Nov 9, 2003.

  1. Vaker

    Vaker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I want to burn anime but the problem is that when I burn them as VCDs or DVDs with Nero or my software (myDVD) it shows the subtitles half cut off since there's a safe TV zone. Can anyone help me burn DVDs or VCDs and be able to see the sub titles.
     
  2. Fatboy_

    Fatboy_ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How strange...Are you sure it's not a pal/ntsc thing ?

    I use tmpgenc with the directshow filter and they come out fine

     
  3. Vaker

    Vaker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Do you know where I could download tmep?
     
  4. Fatboy_

    Fatboy_ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Go to the homepage on this site and look at the guides...There is a good one telling you how to burn dvd/vcd with subs...all the downloads you need are linked from there...Good luck..

    I burned voices of a distant star with it yesterday and it's excellent..follow the guide to the letter and you'll be ok
     
  5. Vaker

    Vaker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry for double posting but what did you mean by directshow filter?
     
  6. Fatboy_

    Fatboy_ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    the direct show filter is what burns the subs permanantly onto the disc..It will be mentioned in the guide..It's free but tmpgenc isn't...

    Are you encoding the films from avi ? or just ripping them from dvd..If you were more specific i might be able to help more
     
  7. Vaker

    Vaker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm encoding them from AVI, and I can't find that guide by the way... :'(
     
  8. Fatboy_

    Fatboy_ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  9. Vaker

    Vaker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks so much for your help :) Please check this post in like 20 minutes I might need your help again :'(
     
  10. Vaker

    Vaker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh yea there's a problem that tutorial shows you how to add subs with the movie but the thing is the AVI itself contains the subs it's part of the picture it self :-/
     
  11. Fatboy_

    Fatboy_ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok will do....It's a bit over complicated the guide..You just need tmpgenc and ffdshow to do what you want
     
  12. Vaker

    Vaker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm sorry I don't understand that guide only shows how to add the .sub subs to the movie but the AVI I have has the subs as part of it, and it doesn't show on TV since TV usually cuts of the edges :-/
     
  13. Fatboy_

    Fatboy_ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh now i see...Lol it already has subs in..

    that's different..If it's cropping the top and bottom it must be the settings in whatever you're using to encode the film...Are you encoding ntsc from a pal source ? that would account for it...You'll just have to have a fiddle with the settings
     
  14. Vaker

    Vaker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My dvd program auto incodes the AVI, so does nero I don't set anything :-/
     
  15. Fatboy_

    Fatboy_ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You could still try tmpgenc to encode the film..Most people on here use it and you might have more luck
     
  16. Fatboy_

    Fatboy_ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's strange, i mean vcd format is 352x240 so how can it be off the edge of your t.v..

    Gotta be your software
     

Share This Page