1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

System Restore Help!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Xeroblade, Mar 13, 2005.

  1. Xeroblade

    Xeroblade Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    alright i really need to do a system restore but i cant since it is turned off the thing is i cant turn it back on by going into my system properties because the system restore tab is not there i hope that explains it so does anybody know another way to turn it on? if so please let me know! thanks.

    btw im running windows xp home edtion.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2005
  2. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Right click My computer
    Click on Manage
    Click on Services and applications
    Click on Services
    Go down the list till you see system restore
    Either click on start or select automatic

    Hope this helps..............
     
  3. Xeroblade

    Xeroblade Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry forgot to tell you that i did that already and its already on in the services but its not really on so i have no idea i will try and upload a pic later today on what the error says thanks for the help though
     
  4. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yep let us know.

    I haven't come across a situation where the system restore is available in manager, but unavailable in system tools.

    The other way (which you probably have tried aswell) is to:
    Click on Start/Programs/accessories/System Tools/System Restore

    But if you haven't got the tab in device manager, I would be surprised if the option is there.

    However, this obviously doesn't mean the problem cannot exist.

    Just wondering whether a virus could be causing it, have you got anti virus, and done a scan?

    Some links for you that may help.

    http://www.softwaretipsandtricks.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17333

    http://www.jsifaq.com/SUBQ/tip8100/rh8136.htm

    Obviously any changes to parts of the registry carry a risk.

    It does seem that you may not have full administrator rights - logged on with restrictions etc.

    If I get something more definite I shall post, interested to see the outcome of this aswell........
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2005
  5. Xeroblade

    Xeroblade Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    wow awesome, i do have a virus scan and ran it and it found nothing that was the mcafee virus scan, i then just today downloaded avg virus scan and it found 21 infected files so if that doesnt work then i will use those links you gave i read through them and i think that might work so if it works i will let you know, thanks alot baabaa! i sure owe ya.
     
  6. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Good luck with it.............

    Yes I have heard several issues regarding anti virus programs.

    Mcaffee, and Norton seem to miss an awful of possible viruses, whereas the free ones like avg and avast seem to pickup the ones they miss.

    Good be a good sign that, see how it goes.......
     
  7. aabbccdd

    aabbccdd Guest

    spyware can cause magor problems to so do a scan for that using Spy Sweeper or Highjackthis.and YES norton and mcaffe both blow iam using Trend Mirco PC-cillin Internet Security 2005.and its very good.
     

Share This Page