1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upconversion DVD player won't display 1080i......

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by TripleC86, Apr 11, 2007.

  1. TripleC86

    TripleC86 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a Sony DVP-NS75H that has the capability to display 1080i resolution. It is input to my Hitachi PJ-TX300 projector via HDMI/DVI (HDMI cable with DVI attachment for input). The PJ-TX100 also has the capability to display 1080i. Whenever I play a DVD it will max out on 780p. When I play on my XBOX 360 it will display 1080i. Any changes to the video format that I have to do? Any other ideas?
     
  2. llChaosll

    llChaosll Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey whats up, I recently purchased the same DVD player and its amazing. I guess you didnt go into the settings of the DVD player using the remote, then go to video and adjust the resolution, you probably have it on automatic, change it to 1080I and try again.
    You cannot access the settings when a DVD is in the player, so just power on the player then hit the menu or display button on the remote then go into video options.
    Hope that helps, I'll check back later let me know if you fixed it.

     
  3. TripleC86

    TripleC86 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was also very impressed with the quality that the upconvo brought out. However I went in and changed the settings to 1081i when there was no DVD in there. My screen just refreshed and it still showed in 720. What is weird is that my projector will automatically detect the resolution. Any other ideas?
     
  4. sd72667

    sd72667 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Did you read the manual? I have the Sony 85h, which is the 5 disc, and I have no problem upconverting to 1080i. You will have to look into your settings to change to 1080i.
     
  5. TripleC86

    TripleC86 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When I put the settings on the DVD player to 1080i it just refreshed my screen but still displayed 720p......
     
  6. llChaosll

    llChaosll Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Srry to hear that, Im not sure, did you try taking out the HDMI/DVI and then connecting it again. I cant think of anything else but if I come to any conclusions I'll let ya know.
     
  7. KKM

    KKM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is it possible to use the Upconversion with Component cables ?

    My HDTV does have a HDMI input.
     
  8. llChaosll

    llChaosll Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was told when I bought it that you can only get 1080I upconversion
    using HDMI, but I never tried component cables so Im not sure.
    I guess using component only gives you 720 but maybe someone else can clarify.
     
  9. cheezzzz

    cheezzzz Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Its because your projector's res is 720. So it will display 720.
     
  10. TripleC86

    TripleC86 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My projectors native res is 720 but it can display up to 1080i. I have my XBOX 360 displayed on 1080i through component.
     
  11. cheezzzz

    cheezzzz Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You cant change the output of the projector. If it is 720 then it is 720. What youre seing as 1080i is what is being fed.
     
  12. TripleC86

    TripleC86 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I think I may be confused. All of the research I did on the projector said it can display at 1080i. When I play my 360 I changed the resolution (on the 360) from 720 to 1080 and it made a big difference.
     
  13. llChaosll

    llChaosll Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hmm, I looked up the model on google & it does say the resolution is 1280X720 which means it can only display 720P.

    Hitachi PJ-TX300
    Main specs

    Display (Projector) / Type: LCD projector

    Display (Projector) / Max Resolution: 1280 x 720

    Display (Projector) / Image Aspect Ratio: 16:9

    Display (Projector) / Image Brightness: 1200

    Display (Projector) / Colour support: 10

    Display (Projector) / Image Contrast Ratio: 10.000:1

    Weight: 4.7

    Manufacturer: Hitachi
     
  14. TripleC86

    TripleC86 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Even though the Native resolution is 720....the max resolution is 1080i.....

    PJ-TX300 Compatibility

    Computers VGA, SVGA, XGA, SXGA
    Video PAL,SECAM,NTSC,NTSC4.43,PAL-M/N
    Horizontal Freq 15-64kHz
    Vertical Freq. 50-120Hz
    HDTV 1080i, 1035i, 720p, 576i/576p, 480i/480p
    HDReady Yes
     
  15. cheezzzz

    cheezzzz Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Max resolution of what?
     
  16. TripleC86

    TripleC86 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Max res of the projector. The Hitachi website lists this....

    Compatibility

    Computer Compatibility IBM Compatible VGA, SVGA, XGA, SXGA (Smart resizing)
    Video Compatibility pj300 NTSC/PAL(-BGDHI)/SECAM/PAL-M,N/NTSC4.43/PAL60
    SDTV: 525i(480i), 525p(480p), 625i(575i)
    HDTV: 750p (720p@50/60Hz), 1125i(1080i@50/60Hz)

    It can display 1080i (HDTV), I know this because it will with my 360. I don't know why it won't with my upconvo player.
     
  17. cheezzzz

    cheezzzz Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Dude, here is an analogy: the set is like the human body...feed it a filet mignon (1080), rib-eye (720), sirloin (480) and what comes out at the other end is feces (720, the native output).
    Somebody else help this dude out!!! I'm done.

    cheezzzz
     
  18. TripleC86

    TripleC86 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK, what I don't understand is that the display will reflect 720 if I set the XBOX up to 720. When I change the XBOX to 720 (while the projector is set to auto), the quality of the image increases and it reads 1080 on the bottom of the screen saying that the display has changed. Being that the display is so large, there is a noticable change. But back to my question, if my XBOX can transmit a 1080 signal to my projector and the resolution will change from 720 to 1080, why won't it change when I change the resolution on the upconvo player from 720 to 1080?
     
  19. themind

    themind Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    DRM..... ether your player or your projector (I will go with player) doesnt like sending or reseving an unsecker digtel signal. There for down gradeing the pitcher. Try useing componant if you can.
     

Share This Page