1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

update sim 2.01 b/l76c to b/l 84 ?

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by atghawkin, Feb 20, 2013.

  1. atghawkin

    atghawkin Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    28
    A few glitches on my dreambox 800 hd pvr . I want to change the image but looking around on other forums I see its possible to update the boot loader on a sim 2.01 .A lot of the threads are old and say its hit and miss so if anyone has advice on 1 : is it safe/wise ? and 2 : is it possible to default back to original boot loader ? cheers!
     
  2. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Fint is the dreambox man mate
     
  3. atghawkin

    atghawkin Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    28
    True ! I found an old thread that is a bit more informative ,I'll read up a bit more , see what happens!! thanks
     
  4. lukeian5

    lukeian5 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Why not just flash a new image that's patched with b/l 84 for sim 2.01. But if your happy with your image, I'm nearly sure you can just flash the new b/loader in the same way as an image & reboot the box, but as I say....nearly sure lol. Best wait for confirmation
     
  5. atghawkin

    atghawkin Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Sorted ! I flashed up to b/l 84b and pli image working ok so far .first i flashed the 84b.nfi file then reboot and flashed the image , it has 1channel as a plugin and it seems to be working fine , thanks for replies lads!!
     
  6. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Many reports of clone boxes giving tuner errors on ss84 and ss84b. Had such problems myself and eventually reverted to ss82. The problems aren't immediately noticeable. Am convinced some clones just don't function well on this boot loader. I ended up having to buy a new tuner
     
  7. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i would say that the biggest culprit in the tuner issue was the dreamboxuk image (discontinued for just this reason). obvious indicator is when looking at dm800 oled display when box is in standby you see incorrect time presented. if such is the case i would immediately suggest you change to earlier bootloader
     
  8. atghawkin

    atghawkin Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Thanks ! will look out for it , at the moment it seems stable
     

Share This Page