1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading an ASUS P5E-VM HDMI

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Mike50, Oct 29, 2013.

  1. Mike50

    Mike50 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, I admit it, pc tech has gone beyond me. My first computer I built from a cosmetic reject bare-board Intel SBC-80/10 I pulled out of the Intel dumpster in Santa Clara about 100 years ago. I modified the source code for Processor Tech 8k BASIC to run on it. I've upgraded over the years, now I'm stumped. I'm currently running an ASUS P5E-VM HDMI MB, Belarc tells me I have a 2.53 gHz Pentium 3, with 3320 mb of installed memory (2x2048 modules) using XP. Can this system be upgraded, or is it worth upgrading to Win 8? Can it run 64 bit? I assume at minimum a cpu change would be required, can anyone advise the practicality, as well as what else might be affected because of this upgrade? Thanks!!
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2013
  3. Mike50

    Mike50 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11


     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2013
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    don't use the reply at the right side of screen but use reply at bottom so both messages are not 1. you have a socket 775 cpu which is not a p3. 64bit is faster plus can read more ram
    your current cpu
    Processor Number E7200
    # of Cores 2
    Clock Speed 2.53 GHz
    L2 Cache 3 MB
    FSB Speed 1066 MHz
    FSB Parity No
    Instruction Set 64-bit
    Embedded Options Available
    No
    Lithography 45 nm
    Max TDP 65 W
    VID Voltage Range 0.8500V-1.3625V
    Recommended Customer Price BOX : $117.00
    http://ark.intel.com/products/35348...-E7200-3M-Cache-2_53-GHz-1066-MHz-FSB?q=E7200

    i use an xp computer most of the time but also have a win7 computer. both are intel dual cores about the same as yours & my win7 is 64bit with 4gigs of ram.
     
  5. Mike50

    Mike50 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks very much for your help. I think Ill try Win 7 64 bit and add more ram to my current MB, I have two empty slots. I believe this is the first time Ive tried to use the forum, Ill be paying more attention to it in the future.

    Two minor issues with the forum - I can't post unless I remove the links from your replies, and there seems to be no way to post directly from the preview screen. No big deal.

    Thanks again.


     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    put 2 more 2gig sticks in & will have 8gigs total. you have 4gigs of ram currently but it show 3.25gigs which is because of your 32bit windows not your 64bit cpu. my 64bit win7 shows all 4gigs of ram.
     
  7. Mike50

    Mike50 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Will do, thanks for the assist. I have another question, I guess I should start a new post?
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is the question?
     
  9. Mike50

    Mike50 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'd like to build a dual boot XP/Win7 system on a SATA 2T disk, selectable at startup. I assume this can be done, can it be set up so that program/data files/folders be accessible from either system? Or would each system have to have it's own files/folders, which would mean duplicating them?
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
  11. Mike50

    Mike50 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Rgr, Thanks!
     
  12. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem.
     

Share This Page