1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading an xbox's hard drive with a software mod

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware mods' started by adameller, Nov 20, 2004.

  1. adameller

    adameller Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I unserstand the basics of softeware mods, and of how to install upgraded hard drives in xboxs, but using software mods I am lost on how to install a new hard drive. Can any one help me?
     
  2. LIV2RIDE

    LIV2RIDE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey, first off to upgrade your hdd with a softmod, you will need a pc, and a copy of this program that will format the new hdd to its xbox partitions, and will lock it so you use it on your unchipped xbox. its called xboxhdm, if you want some sites to get it at pm me or look it u on google, it will help you make a bootable cd to boot the program off your computer, and it tells you everything to do . if you go to xbox-scene.com, and search the program up it will show you some tutorials on how to do it also using xboxhdm.I myself had t do it this way cuz there is no other way if you are working with a softmod.
     
  3. adameller

    adameller Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well I downloaded these steps, but my lack of knowledge in this general areal has left me with a iso burned on a cd that doesnt work, I was wondering if there was a site or a person who will sell a pre-made cd that will do the steps for me, please email me on any information dreller_666@hotmail.com thankyou for your help
     
  4. Victrum

    Victrum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I need help, i try update my xbox with a disk of 120 GB, but before that i fu*** my original xbox disk tryng format a unit. so i dont have an original backup of my xbox What i can do?
     
  5. micahman

    micahman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I dont understand the slave concept term, I have a laptop and a desktop, will it work if i connect the HD i plan on using as an external hard drive like through usb and then try to format it for xbox?
     
  6. kopkilla

    kopkilla Guest

    buy a mod chip ya cheap bastard
     
  7. lcarbutt

    lcarbutt Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Its possible to change HDD with softmod without PC but using a second xbox with mod chip or tsop, it also easier. Before I tell you how do you have access to one i.e a freind with one because I cant be arsed wrighting a guide if you dont.
     
  8. tandon

    tandon Guest

    I am with Victrum. I stuffed my hdd and didn't have a backup. How bad is this and can this problem be fixed... Any help would be great...
     
  9. LIV2RIDE

    LIV2RIDE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    FIRST RULE !!!"" BACKUP YOUR HDD' CUZ IF YOU DID' YOU CAN ALWAYS REBUILD YOUR F**** HDD' BUT IF YOU Didn't, all it is now, i s a paper wait !!!
     
  10. big_g-man

    big_g-man Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    tandon, check your pm box.
     
  11. big_g-man

    big_g-man Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    check you pm box, victrum.
     
  12. smac19

    smac19 Guest

    can somebody help me how to backup my HD useing softmod thanks 4 help

     
  13. wizrdeye

    wizrdeye Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I got XBOXHDM, made the boot disks, formatted the drive, and locked it. But when I put it in my xbox it didn't work. Has anyone actualy upgraded a hard drive with a softmod? And are there any other programs like XBOXHDM that might be more indepth? Any help would be great, thank you.
     

Share This Page