1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

USB 2.0 PCI card problems

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by djewell98, Jan 27, 2005.

  1. djewell98

    djewell98 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My computer only came with USB 1.1 connections, so I installed a Belkin 5 port USB 2.0 card in an available PCI slot. My cable modem and webcam run through it just fine. I have am AVerMedia EZMaker 2.0 video capture device that I want to use to transfer my analog camcorder videos to the computer but the computer always locks up after a few minutes of use, sometimes a few seconds. I have to unplug the device and reboot the computer and everything's back to normal.
    What setting am I missing to keep the computer from locking up?
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    does capture device have external power??
     
  3. djewell98

    djewell98 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No external power supply; just power from the USB connection.
    I was actually able to make a successful test video capture (about 30 seconds worth) but once it was "in the computer" not long after that the computer froze. Once I rebooted and removed the EZmaker cable I could manipulate the video and burn it to DVD.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is system specs & required specs for capture device. did you check device site for updates, patches & faq???
     
  5. lannigan

    lannigan Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    for sure ddp, i would check for windows updates and all of the capture device updates. Make sure you have lots of ram too djewell98.


     
  6. djewell98

    djewell98 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A7S333 REV 1.xx
    Processor: 1.8 gigahertz AMD Athlon XP
    Ram: 512 Megabytes Installed Memory
    OS: Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
    Video: NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200

    The only requirement I'm not up to par on is the gigahertz. I believe the EZMaker 2.0 suggested I have a 2 gigahertz processor.
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    that might be the problem, if possible to try on a computer that meets specs to see if problem follows or not than to change with your cpu to see what happens
     
  8. lannigan

    lannigan Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yep, you have a goos strong processor and a good chunck of ram too. I know Sp2 causes problems with nvidia chipset drivers on video cards. Fresh driver install needed?

    Maybe a fresh load of windows. I know that seems kinda drastic but that would definetky sort out if it is hardware or software related.

    Good Luck man
     

Share This Page