1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Verifying Data" with Nero Burning Rom

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by RCBabcock, Dec 27, 2004.

1. RCBabcock

RCBabcock Member

Does anyone here know just what "Verifying Burned Data" does with Nero Burning Rom? It seems like the obvious would be that it compares the data on the DVD-R to the image on the HD- is that really what it does? And will a positive result mean the disc is truly free of errors? I've never used this feature before just now, and since it takes 2x as long I want to know if it's really worth it or not.

I got a message saying the Verification was successful, but what does that really mean for the quality of my DVD-R?

2. manestle

manestle Member

RCBabcock, You are correct in that when Nero verifies data it just compares the written data to the original source data. It's basically just a comparison. If ya have any Nero questions feel free to ask me. I've been using their software since their beginning in the mid 90's.

3. 6foot7

6foot7 Member

Manestle, I just installed 2 new CYBERHOME BURNERS in my computer. I am using the latest version of NERO. When I try to make a backup of a dvd it locks up at the point where it says "CHECKING DISK". I have tried reinstalling NERO but it still locks up. I also have 2 cd-rw installed in the same computer.
    1GB RAM
    P4 2GHZ PROCESSOR
    NERO worked fine before I installed the 2 dvd burners, they even came with NERO software.

4. manestle

manestle Member