1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what am i doing wrong b/c i'm so close...

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by dmb9626, Dec 23, 2007.

1. dmb9626

dmb9626 Guest

I have ripped my backup to my hard drive using DVDfab and have compressed it using DVD2one. All 19 of my files are in their VIDEO_TS folder ready to be burned. I just downloaded ImgBurn and now I'm kind of lost b/c I'm not sure what to select.

I have read about 500 postings (it seems) but given that there are so many, I must not be looking at the right ones.

I'm mainly confused on what "mode" I need to be in and why some people are converting the entire movie to an ISO file (I am very new to backing up my DVDs and haven't had a need to do it in the past). Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong, or I guess NOT doing.

Thx.

2. dmb9626

dmb9626 Guest

Forgot to add...I also have Vista which I've been reading is the cause of some headaches, but wanted to add that in case that means anything to anyone.

3. iluvendo

iluvendo Active member

Hello qnd Merry Christmas dmb9626, imgburn is a iso burning engine only in that it will burn only iso files. the easiest way to solve your problems are to do the following

1) use dvd shrink to compress the output of dvdfab ( make sure that output of shrink is in an iso file
    2) burn the iso file with imgburn
    3) use the guide here for more questions
    4) dvd shrink is freeware

http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/334154

4. iluvendo

iluvendo Active member

2 make everything work right, make sure u have 2 gigs of Ram and a dual core processor ( preferably a core 2 duo processor)

5. dmb9626

dmb9626 Guest

Changing the file to an ISO seems to take much more time and seems like a longer process. Everything seems to be going ok right now though. I'm currently in the "analysing" stage of DVD Shrink.