1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Whats "STOP: 0x0000000A (0xc0398480,0x00000002,0x00000000,0x8081CDCB" mean

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by krkm120, Apr 25, 2007.

  1. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i've been trying to install windows xp since last night everytime i try it gets to nearly complete copying files and then i get a error saying something about "a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer" any ideas?
    technical information "STOP: 0x0000000A (0xc0398480,0x00000002,0x00000000,0x8081CDCB"
    thanks
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2007
  2. ffg7

    ffg7 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  3. Zeyf414

    Zeyf414 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Do you know of anyone who can read your Minidumps? A Minidump will contain more specific information on what caused your crash. Error 0x0A can be due to many things.

    If you don't know anyone then I suggest joining the TechSpot forums and posting them over there for someone to read them for you. To find your Minidump(s) go to C Drive> Windows Folder > search for Minidump Folder and click it on. Inside are your Minidumps. This is what is needed. I usually create a sperate folder on my desktop screen and send them there because they are much easier to access.

    When you post you attach as you would a Word document to an email. If you have several it would be wise to Zip them together. Hope this helps.
     
  4. marsey99

    marsey99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  5. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i cant go to c:\windows because this is a first time installation i just built this computer
     
  6. BadBone

    BadBone Guest

    I ain't no pro, but ususally when i get stuck on installations i check the hard drive.

    A couple of times the physical hard disk platter was damaged and so windows kept shutting down when copying files for installation.

    If you have another harddrive try it out even if its smaller, just to check.

    Otherwise i try to figure out the range in which the error lies on the disk and then create a partition around that space.

    Hope that helps
     
  7. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    do you think trying vista may fix the problem
     
  8. ffg7

    ffg7 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    probably not as could cause other problems
     
  9. elokito

    elokito Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it could b a ram issue if u have 2 sticks of ram try them separately
     
  10. sandisk

    sandisk Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I had this exact same prob during the week and it messed my head up lol.

    Basically I bought a second hand pc and was told by the seller that the os that was on it was corrupt as hell and when I asked can you get into the bios he said yep fine........

    So I put in a xp home edition, it loads the windows files and it says "windows is starting up" and then all of a sudden that error msg keeps popping up!

    Mine is a dell e520 and it turns out after leaving it into a pc shop and the guy couldn't sort it out was a setting needed to be corrected in the bios.

    I just stumbled across this as I'm no pc expert at all...I had to change the settings to "auto detect sata" in the bios and that was it.

    I even connected my other hd to the new pc and was still getting this msg so that was def my prob anyway.

    It was the same error you got so have a look.

    Not saying this is your answer buy hopefully

    Sandisk
     
  11. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    here is my computer 2X2gb dual channel ram
    a 512 magabyte video card

    a 3.4dual core processor
    a 500gb sata drive

    any suggestions on what i should do
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2007
  12. elokito

    elokito Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sry dude but i dont believe u have that pc u just said y? cause only gamers/geeks have a pc like that and some1 like that would say their specs with more detail and u didnt even mention a brand
     
  13. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i built it myself
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2007
  14. elokito

    elokito Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i still dnt believe it and im sure other will agree with me
     
  15. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok do you have any input on what i can do to get windows to install
     
  16. elokito

    elokito Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    u could take ure "2 sticks of 2gb of ram" and remove them 1 by 1 and try and c if one is damaged
     
  17. krkm120

    krkm120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok i'll try that and that is the computer i built too
     
  18. elokito

    elokito Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if u say so
     

Share This Page