1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Vista with Problem

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by RamboRocky, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. RamboRocky

    RamboRocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have this problem saying NTLDR Is Missing on Window Vista. The computer will not continue. The Hard Drive is only two years old on the Dell Laptop. This all happen when I decided to unplug the cord as I tried loading MSN. The MSN web page was spinning around never loading. I tried to Control alt delete Mozilla and tried shutting it down but it was a no go so i pulled the plug. I am not 100% if it is the hard drive or just a problem with a file. I do not want to reformat the hard drive as it has some data I did not back up

    I tried Ubuntu that says you can get back your data from an old hard drive. I read the details on a Use Ubuntu Live CD to Backup Files from Your Dead Windows Computer but it does not work. Ubuntu was a new version so the Operating System was a little different. I could not mount nothing. This is what it said.

    Error mounting: mount exited with exit code 13: ntfs_attr_pread_i: ntfs_pread failed: Input/output error
    Failed to calculate free MFT records: Input/output error
    NTFS is either inconsistent, or there is a hardware fault, or its a
    SoftRAID/FakeRAID hardware. In the first case run chkdsk /f on Windows
    then reboot into Windows twice. The usage of the /f parameter is very
    important! If the device is a SoftRAID/FakeRAID then first activate
    it and mount a different device under the /dev/mapper/ directory, (e.g.
    /dev/mapper/nvidia_eahaabcc1). Please see the dmraid documentation

    The Dell Inspiron 1525 has no such file NTLDR in Dell Drivers and Utilities in the i386 folder or Dell Windows VISTA service pack 1 Home Premium Disc.

    Dell Drivers and Utilities it has i386 folder but as usual no NTLDR file.


    R154200 folder with IAAHCI and IASTOR with TXTSETUP.OEM
    R166200 folder with IAAHCI and IASTOR with TXTSETUP.OEM
    R167809 folder with AHCIX86S files


    R166201 folder has these.

    OROM folder that has IANVSRV and ROBSON that has PROD.ROM
    LANG Folder has STORAGE folder with Languages
    UNINSTAL has ISTGUN file and Lang folder with storage folder in it
    WINALL has DRIVER folder with IAAHCI and IASTOR with TXTSETUP.OEM
    It also has DRIVER64 folder with the same and there is a folder ROBSON with X32 and x64 folders that both have IANVSTOR and NVCCOIN.DLL in them.
    X64 folder has DIFX64 and DIFXAPI.DLL in it
    APPLICAT has STORAGEU folder with pluginra in files and Raidwizm along with MIGRSTAT and ISDI.DLL files.
    HELP Folder with help files.
    MONITOR folder with IAANTMON files and IAANOTIF
    REMOVEDR folder with language files of it
    ROBSON folder with SHELLEX,PLUGINRO.PIN,ISDI.DLL in Language folders.

    R154164 folder same as above.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2012
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128

    The NTLDR message is supposed to refer to XP.

    Does the information in this link help?
    It lists options for an installation disk, recovery disk, or recovery partition on the HDD.
    If nothing applies, then you can probably get a recovery disk download.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Startup-Repair-frequently-asked-questions
     
  3. RamboRocky

    RamboRocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2012
  4. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    does your other pc have sata ports on motherboard & sata power connectors on psu?
     
  6. RamboRocky

    RamboRocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I think my desktop computer that running Windows XP is like this the model is Model 671T-M not sure what exact version it is.Bio Version AIM Bios 08.00.14

    CS 671T-M (V1.0)
    Manufacturer ECS
    Model 671T-M (V1.0)
    Supp. CPU for ECS 671T-M (V1.0)
    CPU Socket Type LGA 775
    Main processor type(Supported CPU) Core 2 Duo support;
    Pentium D support;
    Pentium 4 support;
    Celeron D
    Front Side Bus frequency (FSB) 1066/800Megahertz(MHz)
    Chipsets for ECS 671T-M (V1.0)
    Northbridge/North Bridge chip. SiS 671
    Southbridge/South Bridge chip. SiS 968
    Mem.
    Number of Mem. Slots 2*240pin
    Mem. Standard DDR2 667
    Maximum Mem. Supp. 4Gigabyte
    Expansion Slots
    PCI Express x16 One
    PCI Express x1 One
    PCI Slots Two
    Storage Devices Support
    PATA 1 * ATA100 2 Dev. Max
    SATA 3Gb/s Two
    SATA RAID(redundant array of independent disks) 0/1
    Built-in Video
    Built-in Video Chipset SiS Mirage3 Graphics
    Built-in Sound
    Sound Chipset Realtek ALC660
    Sound Channels 6 Channels
    Built-in LAN(local area network)
    LAN(local area network) Chipset Broadcom AC131
    Max LAN(local area network) Speed 10/100Mbps
    Rear Panel Ports
    PS/2-port Two
    COM-ports One
    LPT-ports One
    Video Ports D-Sub
    USB(Universal Serial Bus) 4 * USB(Universal Serial Bus) 2.0
    Sound Ports 3 Ports
    Form Factor of ECS 671T-M (V1.0)
    ECS 671T-M (V1.0) Form Factor Micro ATX (for Advanced Technology Extended)
    Size of product 9.6inch *8.7"
    Windows Vista Certified for Windows Vista.

    Back to that Problem with my laptop i tried this link from someone who had the same problem.
    http://tinyempire.com/notes/ntldrismissing.htm I downloaded CD-R fixntldriso.zip. I then unzipped the ISO file then placed in Img burn . I then write Image File To Disc but all 10 options failed as well in safe mode.I thought the 3rd option was loading to work then it spitted out windows could not start because of an error in the software. please report this problem as load needed DLLs for Kernel. please contact your support person to report this problem.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012
  7. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I don't see how this can help as it specifies that it's a fix for XP - in fact I used the same download a few years back to repair a dual boot XP PC.
    As ddp inferred in #5, the HDD may have to be connected to another PC to extract the data if the Linux disk or repair options fail.
     
  8. megadunderhead

    megadunderhead Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    dell seagate hard drive

    you need to update the seagate hard drive with a new firmware problem you have to do it in windows and worse you lost all your data it's gone the drive itself corrupts without warning without the firmware update being installed
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    megadunderhead, don't think it is a firmware problem with the hard drive as dealt with that problem before with vista software corruption.

    rambo, take the drive out of the laptop & connect it to your pc's sata & psu. will then be able to access your info to save as you will have to reload windows. customer had that happen a week before coming back from florida & had half a days work she needed saved as she was a court reporter. pulled the drive out of the laptop, connected to her desktop, saved the info, put the drive back into the laptop & reloaded windows. hasn't had a problem since.
     

Share This Page