1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xbox locking up!!!

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware boot discussion' started by jhengens, Mar 21, 2005.

  1. jhengens

    jhengens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    guys i need your help, when playing a game after 2-3 minutes my xbox starts hanging. its doin'it with all the games i play from my HD (HDD isue?) i dont know what to do. when the games hang the fan is spinning down. the screws are left from the mobo. i also tried to remove the black wire from the fan and stick it to the case, it worked!! and fan is going faster now, but still my xbox hangs and fans still going little bit slower than supposed to. i'm sure it isn't the modchip, cause it hangs also in MS dash with modchip off the mobo. is it a ground issue? or could it be my memory?? the xbox was broken before (broken traces, missing resistors and a capacitor) everything seems to work now. i checked for solder splashes and removed some from the ram chip. did i fried my ram chip and should i replace this? when one of the pins is lifted or connected to another the xbox frags so, i don't know what to do. help ME!! please
    thanx in advance
     
  2. kakeakeai

    kakeakeai Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the fan is bad buy a new one for like $3 at compusa i got one with lights for $4
     
  3. jhengens

    jhengens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanx for the reply i'll try it out today. i already got an other fan from a broken 1.6 xbox, so i i'll try that one. Hopefull it works than.
     
  4. jhengens

    jhengens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    it didn't solve the problem.
     
  5. kakeakeai

    kakeakeai Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    do u have a modchip and wat v xbox. the v 1.6 sometimes has this problem put a resistor in the slot idk were its somewere.
     
  6. jhengens

    jhengens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    its a v1.3 modded with aladdin xt with evox_m8+ bios
    it hangs also without modchip. sometimes my xbox reboots itself when in evox dash.
    xbox hangs without modchip plugged in. i installed exploits and runned evox from ms dash in origin mode and still the games will hang. so i guess it isn't the modchip. i tried other aladdin chips and had the same results.
     
  7. jonels

    jonels Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    have you tried clearing the cache folder ?
     
  8. elusiv1

    elusiv1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try reflashing the Bios!! It could be or could have become corrupt some kind of way. I had to reflash my Xenium with the X2 bios because the first X2 bios I used was hanging on the flubber screen and would take almost 2 minutes to get to the Evox Dash. Even some games were freezing on me.
     
  9. shivadow

    shivadow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    try a reflash of the bios. get a bios, put it on HDD coz disks scratch!! + reflash it with FlashX.
     
  10. spyman

    spyman Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if the problems happening without the modchip, then id suspect its not the bios or modchip :)

    do you have a spare hdd you could try to use instead?
     
  11. jhengens

    jhengens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i don't have an original hdd anymore, but i'll borrow one from a m8 when i get from school.
     
  12. jhengens

    jhengens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My maxtor HDD never failed in other xbox's, but i will give it a try
     
  13. jhengens

    jhengens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i cleaned the cach,
    also formatted the :E and :C partition.
    didn't help
     
  14. kakeakeai

    kakeakeai Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    then its the hdd just get a new one.
     
  15. jhengens

    jhengens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i removed the folder ":E\Cache" is this the one you were talking about?
     
  16. spyman

    spyman Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    have you tried this !

    make a folder in E:\ called cache, make a folder called UDATA , and a folder called TDATA

    CACHE
    UDATA
    TDATA

    those three are important, and need to be on your E:\ after you formatted it.
     
  17. jhengens

    jhengens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    the folders in E: were automatically created when i installed MS dash.
    could it be the Y or X partition? cause i saw once cache files in it. i'm not home this weekend, so i can't look at it.
     
  18. jhengens

    jhengens Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i used the firefuckers xdisk. i used it for many xbox's and didn't had any problems with it before.
     

Share This Page