1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xbox to home theatre

Discussion in 'Receivers and amplifiers' started by spike24, Jan 12, 2011.

1. spike24

spike24 Regular member

hi guys i have a samsung 3d tv and a samsung home theatre system and a virgin media hd cable box,i get all my sound through my home cinema,i hooked my xbox up which is the new black slimline one but i get no sound through the home cinema and i carnt get the sound through th tv as i have turned of tv speakers and set it to external speakers which is home cinema,how do i get round this,oh i use an optical cable from tv to home cinema thanks

2. tongs007

tongs007 Active member

have you tried a 3.5 mm jack from head phone input on tv to home cinema? turn your head phone setting up on tv. i know its not as good as optical but thats the way i get mine working. ps im no expert on this so wait and see what other ppl say

3. spike24

spike24 Regular member

Hi no I haven't tried that didn't know about it but will take a look,just didn't expect it to be such a problem to begin with. Thanks

4. JVC

JVC Active member

The optical output of the tv is for use only with the internal tuner, for 5.1 surround sound from your local HD channels, while using an antenna. It's not for a piggy back connection like you're trying to do. A tv that will pass audio that way at all, will down mix the 5.1 signal to 2.0, so the best you'll get is Dolby Pro Logic II (simulated surround).

You need to run an optical cable from the xbox, straight to the surround receiver. Make sure the audio output for the xbox is set to "Bitstream", and not PCM. You may need to assign the input you plug the optical cable into, to the xbox. The manual should explain how to assign the input.

5. spike24

spike24 Regular member