1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xp 4gb

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by mac74lee, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. mac74lee

    mac74lee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi
    Can my mobo run 4gb of corsair ddr2 xms pc6400.
    my mobo is a asrock ALiveSATA2-GLAN VIA® K8T890 CF with a amd 4400 x2 and im running XP.

    Thanks
     
  2. krj15489

    krj15489 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  3. mac74lee

    mac74lee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you very much.
    So its pointless me buying another 2GB of ram.
    Would you agree.
     
  4. krj15489

    krj15489 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yes it is. unless you are going to run64bit vista. but vista 64 has alot of issues.
     
  5. phill2000

    phill2000 Guest

    Not necessarily.

    If you upgrade from 2Gb to 4Gb, its true windows will only allow you to use the first 3.2-3.5Gb. However this is true for the 32 bit version of the O/S. 64 Bit versions of XP and Vista make use of all 4Gb due to the 64 bit architecture.

    You can also research about the /PAE boot switch option to "make" XP use all the available memory.
     
  6. mac74lee

    mac74lee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Brilliant thanks for the advice.
    Keep it up
     
  7. Aarbyy

    Aarbyy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello people. What's GLAN? It's been a while since I've paid a whole lot of attention to new stuff in computers. My brother will one day soon be buying one and I thought I'd check out some ads for him. The language in them has changed and I haven't kept up so well. Thanks in advance.
     
  8. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Just passing thru; GLAN will be Gigabit LAN :)
     
  9. Aarbyy

    Aarbyy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ahhh. Thanky kindly. ;-)
     

Share This Page