1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xp install problem

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by relpers, Jul 12, 2007.

  1. relpers

    relpers Guest

    I recieved a computer from a friend. I tried to reinstall windows xp and everytime after it gets to the point where i enter the product key the computer locks up. what do i do to get around this?

    the computer is a compaq
    pentium 4 2.20ghz
    256 mb ram
     
  2. chunkhead

    chunkhead Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Could be bad RAM! Also could be a dodgy copy of Windows! Check both...
     
  3. rayxtreme

    rayxtreme Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, could be.
    But if you one the good one, buy XP Genuine or contact microsoft
    here.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2007
  4. relpers

    relpers Guest

    thanks for the help but i was wondering how do you check RAM to see if it is bad?
     
  5. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    pull out all but one stick and see if you still have the problem.
     
  6. jony218

    jony218 Guest

    I've installed windows xp on 256mb before, it's probably the bare minimum. Usually with bad memory you get the blue screen with errors on it during installation. It might be your installation cd is dirty or scratched. If you have another spare cd-rom drive , try using that to install windows (some cd-rom drives have more power to read scratched cd's better). I've had a similar problem before where I couldn't get windows to install, I fixed it by using a different cd-rom drive. It might work for you.
     
  7. relpers

    relpers Guest

    thanks i'll try that to.
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    minimum is 128meg to install but to run can be 64meg. try cleaning the cd with water & soft cloth to dry.
     
  9. relpers

    relpers Guest

    sorry to take so long to respond. finally got windows to install, but every so often anywhere from 2-30 minutes of running the computer just freezes. Finally got some more 512mb more ram and it still freezes. what do i do?
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is the cpu heatsink & fan clean? check the can shaped objects on the motherboard as they are capacitors, are any domed as they are supposed to be flat topped?
     
  11. chunkhead

    chunkhead Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Did you completely replace the RAM or are you still running the old stuff too?

    Definitely sounds like a RAM issue.

    Probably wouldn't hurt to try a different copy of XP too though...
     
  12. relpers

    relpers Guest

    still running the old ram too. I'll try removing the old one.
     

Share This Page