1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xvid (1.85:1) to DVD

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by sbunny, Mar 23, 2004.

1. sbunny

sbunny Guest

Hi,

I am a newbie and have read the guides. I tried multiple programs to try and convert a XviD AVI to DVD but with no joy and was curious if anyone had come across this particular problem before or could offer any advice.

I have a Xvid AVI, which according to GSpot 2.21 is 528*288 with MP3 Audio. I would like to burn this to DVD and have tired using TMPGENC Plus to convert it, but whatever I seem to do the file size is always too large to fit on a DVD.

The original AVI file size is 696 MB and I think the source is 1.85:1 NTSC.

Any help would be much appreciated.
    TIA.

Stressed Bunny

2. shiroh

shiroh Guest

its about 90 minutes of video right.
    and you want to fit it into a single dvd.

try using the wizard and check its size on cbr, in the wizard there will be a meter of file size estimation. if you want to use 2pass vbr put the cbr value on the average in the vbr settings.

just to be save put the bitrate a little less.

3. sbunny

sbunny Guest

The movie is 1:49 (109 mins) CBR is 1150 23.976fps Audio: Layer 2 48000Hz 192Kbps.

On page 4/5 of the project wizard though the movie info is 317 mins 34 secs - why?

I can't get the video bitrate low enough to get the file size to fit on 1 DVD as at 720x480 average of 2000 and audio of 192 it is 120.66% disk capacity and I can't lower the average video bit rate anymore.

Am I missing something? Could there be something wrong with the XdiV avi? - although it plays in windows media player fine and reports the movie as 1:49.

Although if you preview it in TMPEnc Plus there is a lot of black at the end of the film, is this normal? The preview slidder goes to 5 hours 17 (456821 frames)?

What settings should I use to preserve the 1:1.85 aspect ratio? Is there an advanced user guide?