1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ZAxisMapping??

Discussion in 'Linux - General discussion' started by 8chaos, Mar 9, 2007.

1. 8chaos

8chaos Regular member

Well I am very new to linux. I have always had a dual boot with SuSE and XP and I am just now starting to use linux more. So to the topic- my wireless Logitech mouse does not scroll. I Googled for 2 hours last night and I am still not scrolling. I know I have to access ZAxisMapping somehow. Here is a suggestion by other forum I found by Google last night.

I need to know how to get to ZAxisMapping, and where do I go to input /etc/X11/XF86Config?

I have already played with YaSt, SuSE help center and SaX2. Non of which helped me out. I have tried to input /etc/X11/XF86Config in the 'terminal' I assumed it was like DOS, but didn't do anything.

Also, another suggestion is to modify some values like this:
    Where, When, Why and How? I need specifics! Anyway any help is appreciated to get me scrolling.

Edit: By the way I am using SuSE w/GNOME

Last edited: Mar 9, 2007
  2. janrocks

janrocks Guest

debian..and my scroll wheel works. You are in the right place, mine has 2 sections..

Perhaps it's the "emulate 3 buttons" part?
    Try modifying your file like mine.. but take care. I think suse has a mouse configure app somewhere in settings. I'm not very familiar with suse.

If somebody says it's in /etc/X11 then that's where it will be. You will need to be root to edit the xorg or xfree config file.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 9, 2007
  3. 8chaos

8chaos Regular member

SuSe has a YaST control center where I can change settings, but its only three settings I change. I have messed around with it. It has an activate wheel mouse and emulate a wheel mouse, but they don't work. There is a number field beside the settings, a 4-10. I don't know what that means though.

Where do I go to modify the values like you did?