1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

´´A Question about a DVD writer i am buying´´ Need Advice

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by BolloStar, Sep 22, 2002.

1. BolloStar

BolloStar Guest

Hi i am buying a DvD writer this fridays coming..
    and i am into Xbox,Ps2 and dvd movies..
    i have heard of:
    pioneer ao4 and Sony DRU500A
    that people say writes +dvd r + rw dvd
    - dvd r -rw dvd and the standart cd r and cd rw
    but i dont whick one or if there is a nother one is better i just want to buy the best one so i dont have problems later
    to backuo my ps2 dvd and xbox dvd games..

I am new at this..

2. harvey713

harvey713 Member

Definitely go a for DVD-R/RW drive. These are more compatible with DVD players. I don't have anything against the +RW format but it just has compatibility issues.

3. BolloStar

BolloStar Guest

harvey713 thnx bro..
    but the sony says it burn all the formats

so you recomend the pioneer ao4
    it does the work for ps2,xbox and dvd?

4. Modman

Modman Guest

bollostar,

I to have to go for the Pioneer, I just bought one 2 weeks ago. And just what Harvey said, it has all the better features for more backing up. I heard that the sony which is +RW is only good for backing up Data (Harddrives) not for what your purposes is on mines.

Modman

5. harvey713

harvey713 Member

OK, this is a really late reply. The Friday you refer to has come and gone. Tell us what you finally got. I have nothing against Sony, they make quality equipment but you also need to make sure everything you have works together. So, give it up.

6. Ray_D_O

Ray_D_O Member

the sony dru500a will burn DVD-r/rw, DVD+r/rw and dvd-ram... it is definitely NOT just for data. I've burned many dvd-r's and play them back in my Toshiba SD2800 home player just fine. It's an AWESOME burner

7. seamonkey

seamonkey Regular member