1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

16 bit windows subsystem error

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by conan6972, Oct 18, 2004.

  1. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,273
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    143
    raredawg, do you have your xp disk
     
  2. ericfairc

    ericfairc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thannks DDP.

    Following your advice sorted the problem. Had to use both Spysweeper and No-adware as well as Norton Anti-V to thoroughly clean my system.

    cheers
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,273
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    143
    ericfairc, good for you, always run updates for antispyware & antivirus at once a week & run them, also clean out cookies, temp & temp internet folders. happy computing, teach & learn
     
  4. shaz2jag

    shaz2jag Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks guys you have saved me from tearing my hair out, suddenly developed this problem and i have done as suggested and now i'm a happy bunny again!! :) thanks again
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,273
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    143
    shaz2jag, don't make too many bunnies
     
  6. garflin32

    garflin32 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    THANK YOU GUYS SOOO MUCh i wa ready to break my computer i was tryng to install black hawk down and i was SO ANGRY i spent money for nothing. THANKS Again
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,273
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    143
    as long as your problem is resolved, good & happy computering, teach & learn
     
  8. reverest

    reverest Guest

    Could any kind soul please help me.
    I cant install any programmes on my machine.I'm running XP Pro and each time I go to load something I get the following error message.16 Bit Windows Subsystem.C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXE.NT

    I have tried the copy and paste method from Windows Repair to Sytem 32 and it works fine except each time I reboot the file vanishes.

    Any idea would be appreciated thanks.

    Rob
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,273
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    143
    check for spyware & viruses, had that problem trying load avg6 on system, came up with that error, did online scan with antivirus.com found 5 different viruses infecting 740 files of 21000 checked & not entire drive checked. customer said blow out drive, reload software which i am doing on this machine as i type to you
     
  10. reverest

    reverest Guest

    Thanks friend, sounds a bit drastic to me.I have AVG and have just done a scan and it's come up with no virus's.Not so sure if I can trust AVG now though.

    Rob
     
  11. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
  12. reverest

    reverest Guest

    Thanks for all that CJC I shall try all that right now.


     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,273
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    143
    no antivirus program is perfect not even norton but i'll use avg over norton any day
     
  14. reverest

    reverest Guest

    Can anybody help me further on this problem.
    I have done all the virus and spyware checks and looked at the Microsoft fix but cant get hold of the three required XPpro files.
    It says use the command prompt but being a little new to this game cant work out exactly how to type them in, in simlpe terms.

    Many thanks Rob
     
  15. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey

    Click on start, then go to Run.. now time in CMD

    Now it should bring up a black box with something like C:\Documents and Settings\Username\>

    Now u have to make sure your windows XP disc is in there

    Then type the following (D: being your CD-ROM drive, if its E: change all the D:'s to E:'s)

    expand D:\i386\config.nt_ c:\windows\system32\config.nt
    (PRESS ENTER)
    expand D:\i386\autoexec.nt_ c:\windows\system32\autoexec.nt
    (PRESS ENTER)
    expand D:\i386\command.co_ c:\windows\system32\command.com
    (PRESS ENTER)
    exit
    (PRESS ENTER)

    Then restart your comptuer and try the program again.

    CJC

     
  16. reverest

    reverest Guest

    Thanks CJC why couldnt everyone explain things as simple as that.
    Well I did it and it worked,at least up to when rebooting then the Autoexec file dissapears from Windows 32 but remains in the Repair folder.
    So I'm still none the wiser jusy yet.
     
  17. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Are u continueing on doing the other steps on the Microsoft Page ??

    You only need to do up to Step 5... then if that doesnt work... THEN contine on...

    So do it again, from the command prompt, restart, then try your program.. if it still doesnt work.. THEN continue on doing the other stuff.

    CJC
     
  18. reverest

    reverest Guest

    Think you cracked it for me CJC.I just switched on and the file is still in Windows 32 where it should be.And I can now open stuff up with no problem.
    Many thanks for your easy explanation,I have a learnt a little from that.
    Regards Rob(UK)
     
  19. vincentd

    vincentd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Dear friend, can you please see my problem, entitled 16 bit windows subsystem hooro experience, and if you could please help me...please.
     
  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,273
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    143
    vincentd, go thru the steps cjc outlined to reverest. but make certain to run different antiviruses & antispyware mentioned on this thread first before going thru the steps
     

Share This Page